Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:53 - 07.10.06
raining boxes
One of my sisters came by today, after picking up my youngest granddaughter and her mom. We headed over to number four son's home to visit with the new baby cousin. It was a beautiful golden fall day, bright blue sky in spots with losering clouds in other sections of the heavens. As a non-driver I had forgotten their house number, since it really doesn't matter to me. Once I've been to a place once I can usually find my way back there using landmarks. My sister was patient with that but I suppose it is fustrating trying to drive when someone else is telling you to look for this grocery store, instead of a street name. Just different modes of travelling is all.

My youngest grandson was quite yellow - jaundice don't you know. When my guys were being born no child was allowed to leave the hospital looking like that. Until they spent time under the lights and their bilirubin count went down no doctor would sign the discharge papers for the baby. Too risky when the liver is the organ at risk. Not any more of course. This grandbaby didn't really show signs of it until Wednesday. The public health nurse did come by for a visit, but there was no way that she could do a bilirubin count. That is lab work. Don't like this one little bit. We gave the parents their presents - mostly bath and travel related materials. They aren't really short on much since this is the teenth grandchild for the other side of the family. Lots of toys for baby and parents to play with. My granddaughter was fascinated with her new cousin. Testing him out for play value she was. She especially liked his hair. The visit gave the two new moms some time to compare notes while everyone else snapped photos with their cellphones or cameras. I don't have one of those but my sister sent me some uploaded photos by email. Good enough.

Number two son had also come by because my daughter-in-law needed to go downtown to pick up some work related papers. My sister headed off to pick up her number two son from work while I tagged along with my son. He took the scenic route to the downtown because during rush hour, it is still much faster than the direct approach. I needed to get to City Hall to pick up some documents I needed fo my assignment. The building my daughter-in-law was heading to was across the street and kiddy corner to my destination. We arrived with only 15 minutes until the city hall store closed but that was good enough. When I went to the counter though, it was to be told that they only accept cash. Dug around in my purse and finally came up with the full amount with maybe a nickel to spare left over. Good enough too. Headed off for the train next. It was sitting on the platform when I arrived. I validated my ticket to ride but didn't really expect to make it on board. The drivers usually lock off the doors at a set point in time and I knew that I had come up late. Pushed the button anyway and lo and behold they opened! Hopped on board and was at the end of the line in about 20 minutes. In rush hour it is much faster than going anywhere by car. Grabbed a cab next because I now had three notices to pick up different parcels at the post office. Since I didn't know how big the boxes were - or how heavy - I decided not to gamble on being able to carry them all home after retrieving them. Good thing. Nothing really terrible but awkward.

At home the cats were delighted. New toys for them. Boxes and packing paper - just like my guys when they were small. Found a new hard copy manual in the one box. They are massive. Next up was that one lost box of "goodies" that my co-worker in Ottawa had been talking about. That box had a lot of tears and holes in it so I'm guessing it fell off the back of their truck at one point. Right dear diary? The third parcel contained training manuals for one of the positions we have to hire several staff for. Now that I've got what I need I could finally get started on those new assignments we've been given. Went home and started printing off the instructions for said assignments - about 100 pages all told. Then the support documents had to be printed off too. Another 60 pages. Then there's the two boxes of maps and ppaperwork they contain plus the stuff from City Hall. I think I'm going to be buried for a bit. A quick scan of the key materials already has me aware there are a lot of changes and amendments to be made. Each polling division should average about 400 electors for example. In the first 10 pages of that 60 page document I think I found one conforming pd. There were about 4 pds per page. Uh huh. My youngest was working today so he stopped off on the way home and bought subs for supper so I could focus on these new bits of work. It might also be that the other X-men movie might have ben his purpose and the sub shop just happened to be next door to that store.

Anyway I guess I should go to bed and sleepoff some of this excitement. Whatever. Good night dear diary. Sleep well too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats