Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:05 - 08.09.06
eclipse
I'm not certain if it was a bee or a wasp that stung, me but it has taken about a day to recover from it. It must have been that new hair conditioner that attracted it's interest to me. The scent or somethin. Washed my hair early yesterday morning. Around the noon hour I felt really odd. My head hurt and my eyes felt as though they were burning. It was as though something like soap was pouring out of my tear ducts directly on to my eyes. Next up my nose started to bleed. Then both the nose and my ears felt all dried out but as though they were burning too. I was feeling really lightheaded and couldn't figure out what was going on with me.

I laid down to take a nap thinking I would wake up feeling better. Couldn't sleep because of some strange nightmarish dreams/thoughts swirling around in my brain. At some point in the afternoon I realized the back of my head hurt and that was when I finally realized that I had been stung. With all the thick long hair covering my skull it is amazing that such a creature could find enough space to do the deed but there you have it. By the time I realized what I had to deal with, the swelling was just a bit smaller than a ping pong ball. First thought was to pour peroxide on it to clean out any infection. When I worked at the hospital the first thing done to a patient with broken skin was to shave all the hair around the wound. Reason being hair holds more bacteria and infectious agents than any other part of the body. I wasn't about to do that but decided I had to get the swelling under control. The bite or sting is just above the base of the skull on the right hand side. After I had doused the site the swelling went down by about half but I could feel the break in the skin as well as what might have been the stinger itself. Yeuck. Pulled it out then went for the iodine. Multicoloured hair - I would fit right in down on the mall downtown now. Took an antihistamine just for good measure. I was spiking quite a fever but until the antihistamine took effect I had just put it down to over very warm summer day yesterday - still close to 90 F/30+ C according to our thermostat. Just unbearably hot. today it had been the ears and throat that have been swollen and sore while I still feel really light headed and dizzy bleagh. A quick research on the net today revealed that bee venom is used in treating chronic inflammatory diseases. A neurotoxin it is too.

Continuing on from Tuesday night. My youngest said the Wicker Man movie was "disturbing". He had chosen it because he likes the actor Nicholas Cage and it was a first date night. Girls must be different these days. I would have been out of the theater before the first act was over. Those types of movies give me nightmares for months. My youngest and oldest said that was the point - girls need cuddling you see. Whatever. I was surprised that it bothered my son though. In a lot of the mythology and fairytales we've read over the years that ritual murder/human sacrifice has been present or implied. Take the story "The Black Cauldron" that came out of the Tales of Prydain by LLoyd Alexander. A lot of the story in that series has it's roots in Celtic mythology both from the islands and mainland Europe - at least the north part of France and down into Spain. The Chinese have their own versions as do many oceanic cultures. Now we just have wars. He and his older brother arrived home between 2 and 3 in the am. Didn't help my headache much.

My oldest was telling us tales of his two children's first day back at school. My granddaughter is going into grade 1. Her anxiety was completely dispelled when she learned that all her "best friends" were in her class. At this point she is very much focussed on arts and creative work. The academics will likely click in when they have any relevance to her interests - sort of like her Dad. My grandson is entering grade two. His take on the day was that he was bored silly. Why do they have to review all that old subject matter. He also doesn't like a busy class. He wants to concentrate on his tasks and gets really annoyed with students who think with their jaws flapping. All types of learning styles but sometimes they might be better served if those styles were split up accordingly.

I finally received approval for some office search hours -half of what I had requested. I started sending out pleading emails and checking different leasing websites. What I found was scary. A number of the sites were closed down temporarily until there was product to offer and the rest were pretty well empty. I had called one of the other Returning Officers who has a similar problem and he says he can't find anything either. He also was refused hours to go searching. We have the same problem with our budgets as well. Even though the city census confirms our population estimates the head office in Ottawa has low balled our counts - and therefore our budgets - by about 40,000 people. They won't hear what we have to say regardless of the hard copy/paper based evidence. We discussed some of the oddness of what we have witnessed so far. He's as confused as I am by the contradictions so I don't feel so isolated anymore. He also resents the way we are being bullied into not talking to each other that push for us to only communicate through the offices of the local rep. Ain't going to happen. We were appointed to some degree because of our independent thinking. Conformity isn't really a strong suit with any of us.

In the news today stories about three dream jobs. Too bad I don't have all the qualifications for them - yet. Later this petition about pluto, the astral body, caught my eye as did this poster designed by engineers showing how to rebuild your home after an earthquake. Then there were the stories about the full moon/lunar eclipse today. Well the bee got eclipsed, maybe that has some portent for me too.

Anyway maybe tonight will be better. Good night and good dreams dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats