Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:46 - 08.09.06
Vagus
I should consider myself lucky, shouldn't I dear diary. Old anatomy lessons kept presenting themselves on the inner eye as I was trying to get that reaction from the bee sting under control. The Vagus Nerve. The point of entry of the venom wasn't far from the origin of that structure in the skull. What would happen if the poison made contact with it. Well, inflammation for certain. That means possibly affecting all the parasympathetic functions that nerve controls. Start with the muscles and glands of the throat, then move on to the respiratory system, the heart and finally the stomach. So, as I was trying to follow that little neural pathway at 3 in the am, the upper palate - the roof - in my mouth was swelling. I could feel that sensation starting to move down into the throat itself. Went and took another antihistamine, then continued spraying the throat with my asthma inhaler. What I was craving and what really helped, oddly enough, was apple juice. Malic acid maybe. Kept the passageway open anyway. I was trying to determine if the problem was stemming from the thick blanket of smoke from the forest fires or the sting. Probably a combination of the two. Headache returning as well. Brushed the palate and upper throat with peroxide and that slowed the swelling down quite a bit too. Not the best night I've ever had.

Got up early to get my young men off to work. Well at least my oldest went to work. The shop my youngest works in was closed for the funeral of the young guy killed last weekend. My youngest, however, had gotten several benefits from his first date the other evening. About 5 pm the evening before he called from the mall and asked if I could transmit his resume - it's urgent - to his new friend's employer. I updated it, then got it off in about five minutes. He arrived home much later to let me know he needed his best dress up clothes ready for 8 am next morning. Why? Job interview with said company. Got the laundry under control during the wee hours of the night - see even bee stings have their purpose. This morning was sewing on buttons and doing up references and such as he fussed around trying to get his look just right. You see, the new girlfriend told him what was most important was that he look good. Loaded term since everyone has their own definition of what that implies. He chose his black dress shirt complete with cuff links and black dress khaki pants to go with that. I talked him out of the tie - it just didn't work - and into black dress socks, instead of white sports ones. I suggested maybe it was time we bought him a good jacket or suit, but he really isn't out of his growing stages yet. Those clothes are very expensive, especially if one can only wear them a couple of times. Got him off with his jitters under control, then cleaned the cats' litter boxes while refilling all their treat bowls. They were stressed because my youngest was.

Slowed down then and read my e-zines/mail. Of interest was some comments by the Dalai Lama. I think it was about a year ago today that I had picked up and read his mother's biography. It was a fascinating history and political science lesson for sure. Then there was the health alerts for the areas just south and north of our city. It is odd that the last two have been withheld pending permission of the polluters. See I'm not the only one, dear diary. This story about the effect of fluorescent lights in offices was vindication of a sorts. I'm not the only one getting migraines from them. The reaction to the pluto decision is gaining a lot of attention isn't it. Now there are protest songs. Then there's the goats - who'd a thunk.

As for me? I worked on more election assignments today. New tasks have been added. More calls from other Returning Officers asking questions about the work. It seems as though no one really trusts the local rep for accurate information. Fine, but why is she getting paid such a huge salary then. Why not just pay us what it really costs in time, to do our work? The one Returning Officer has an area where he can't recruit staff for key positions, because the average income of his constituency makes what he is allowed to offer as pay laughable. I think it might help him to advertise for skill sets instead of "paperwork" proof - you know degrees - among his volunteer community. There are a lot of people flying below the radar who still could do an excellent job given the opportunity. However each of us has our own criteria and each of us has our own strengths and weaknesses. Right dear diary?

My throat isn't as bad as last night, but between the residual effects of the sting, the heavy layer of forest fire smoke and the neighbours' combination - both sides - of cigarette and ganja smoke I must admit I'm still struggling. Add in a blinding headache around the supper hour - one of those grind your teeth together to stop from whining things. Had to crawl into bed. Nothing has changed since then except that my head isn't so painful anymore. I guess I should be pleased it happened now instead of a few months ago right? At least the body is strong enough now do cope - even if it is without a lot of gracefulness.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats