Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:13 - 22.08.06
debrief
Good Morning dear diary. I just finished an email to my friend in the Middle East who visited me here on Canada Day. Just catching up on our transition plans as it were. News of family and such as well. What is really disconcerting sometimes is how often there seems to be very little difference between society there and here and then all of the sudden some glaring chasm appears that just can't be reconciled. A lot of it has to do with legislation though. I suspect that if people like my great-grandmother hadn't got involved in ensuring women in this country were considered persons under the law then women here would also be in the same position as that woman being abused by her brother there. Sychronistically this CBC radio special about torture in Evin prison in Iran is being broadcast August 22 and 23 at 8:43 PM (9:13 NT) on CBC Radio One. Unfortunately western governments hands aren't clean either.

In the local entertainment news is our film festival and one of Canada's most innovative animators.

At home just more work on the pre-writ election assignment. Today another email from the local rep. She was claiming she hadn't received some of my data from the June assignment. I sent back the acknowledgement of receipt from headquarters stating that they had received that material from her at the beginning of July. Sigh. Contacted more of the staff that I have to line up for next election. What is troubling me is that if all Returning Officers are terminated in the autumn then all of this work raises expectations in that staff unfairly. The AROs won't be obligated to offer them the positions we have asked them to take on nor any at all. It also raises the expectations of people who are in need of work unfairly, since there is no way to predict when the next writ will be dropped. I don't like treating people that way, but if I refuse to do the work I'll just be replaced anyway. The one bright spot is that I did receive an email from one of the headquarters tech staff that I really enjoy working with. They are one of the really competent and effective contacts that I have. I hope that someday I'll have the opportunity to meet some of the great people who have survived working at headquarters. I really would like to thank them in person so that they can be told how much their support helped.

Still very hot, smoky and dry atmospherically. Several tornado reports today. I'm having to take two showers per every exercise session I do just to lower body heat and get some air into my lungs. I'll be glad when autumn arrives. It's one of my favorite times of year. On September 4 Pluto starts moving forward again so maybe some of the restrictions, like the smoke from the forest fires, will ease a bit. Although the lunar eclipse between 15 and 16 degrees Pisces on September 7th might have some last minute issues to raise. Hope not.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats