Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:50 - 23.08.06
Newsworthy
Woke up really cranky,dear diary. No real reason that I can think of. Maybe it was that new moon blues thang. Worked with the moon archetype - the three headed goddess until the negativity had gone away.

Stayed the course with the election work. Several e-mails back and forth with potential workers throughout the day. A lot of my great workers responding positively and even eagerly to another chance to work together. I'm glad they all see the opportunity as fun and exciting. I guess I'm doing some things right. When my new tech contacted headquarters about his training this morning, he got a pretty good taste of things to come. First up "we are contacting the new techs as they are in the order on the list". Was he on that list? Can't tell him that. Would they be able to check? No, of course not. Just wait to be called. But if he isn't yet on the list? Then he won't be called. Merry go round and round. Fortunately he took it with a good sense of humour. Good thing, since he'll likely need every scrap of it that he's got by the end of the next event. Still rankles that he may not be allowed to work the event - that memo I got about terminating all Returning Officers would explain the reasons that there is no information about upcoming training. It could be that there is no plan to implement it until after ROs are turfed. The person being inserted into our role will likely then choose whoever they see fit. That is reasonable for going forward, but really underhanded and unfair for the staff being recruited now. I hope I'm reading that wrong, but there isn't a lot that would surprise me in terms of how far EC will go to hide their dirty behaviour.

It was still in the 30's C today/80+'s F with a heavy pall of smoke from the forest fires hanging over the city. My breathing wasn't as challenged as the past few days, mostly because I'm able to work with the meds and herbs I have pre-emptively, now that I know how strong the effect is on my lungs. Just enough but not too much. If the forecast is accurate for tomorrow, then the temperature will drop and the wind will clear out the worst of the pollution. Late this evening we could hear someone crying outside in the back. It sounded as though it was coming from the neighbours who shares this duplex and it was a male. Then it sounded as though it moved to the alley. I was just preparing to go to the gate to check on the fellow, when one of the males from the duplexes called out asking if the distressed person was ok. That person allowed that they were and hurried off. Don't know what to make of any of it really.

I thought this was a pretty creative way to get the general public interested in their arts community. This story about the Toronto film festival made me wish I could attend. One of my favorite Bollywood actors/singers is attending. Shahrukh Khan is one of those actors whose use of physcial comedy makes it possible to understand the story without being able to speak the language. He's also a fabulous and versatile singer.

I take back the comments I made last night about women making progress on this continent. First one woman was told to find another church to attend when she wrote a letter to the editor about development of civic resources. How much do you want to bet if those new resources, like a park, get built that the pastor will be holding picnics for his congregation in them. Then there was this one about women not being allowed to be teachers. If someone wants to start a church of worship for Saul of Tarsus that is their right of course, but don't go around masquerading as a follower of the Son of Man. This story about a Celtic cross was considerabbly more uplifting. The theory proposed was that one of its uses was as an astrolabe.

However it is late and I need an early start tomorrow. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats