Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:02 - 15.07.06
survey says
Number three son was quite pleased today when he checked in. One of his applications for work sent out last night garnered an interview offer next week. He said the call came as soon as the recruiter had arrived for work this morning. That's pretty impressive. He is the one who has about 9 years experience in electronics repair. He also informed me that the reason my TV wasn't working was a capacitor. Well that beats a picture tube hands down. He commented that the machine was still an old beast, but why complain if it works. I can afford $2 for a capacitor.

Just after I got off the phone with the prize people yesterday the phone rang again. It was just one of those days when cauliflower ear seemed inevitable, I guess. It was one of the big polling companies. I was in a good mood, so I decided I didn't mind answering some questions about a national issue. Should have seen it coming. First up the poll was specific to a certain racial group. That's already one toe over the line with respect to our laws on human rights. One doesn't make policy based on race here. Verboten. As a country we've signed several international agreements whereby equity and equality are cornerstones to our social policies. Ditto for our Charter of Rights. The first few questions were not too bad, but then came the zinger. "Do you think "" are responsible for most of their own problems?" Well for starters, most of us are responsible for our own problems, even if our only sin is naivete or innocence. We don't beat up the innocent do we? Well yes, that is another story. We shouldn't beat up fellow citizens either for innate problems like mental illness or physical disabilities. Well that is another story too. To add on top of those two aforementioned "weaknesses" the additional designation by racial group, left me feeling somewhat winded. I wasn't certain how I should respond at that point. I expressed my discomfort to the pollster and asked who had commissioned such a poll. She stated that neither the polling staff nor their supervisor were given that information. Uh huh. We continued the survey with a lot of my answers being written as "objected to question" or "felt that the question was based on false premises". Nothing like asking a question where one knows that the assumptions that they are drafted on are false and, in fact, inflammatory too. Feeding old stereotypes and prejudices. Then came the question that required the respondent to choose a theoretical definition for themselves and then respond to additional poll questions based on one's own definition brought in to the survey. That kind of polling is statistically invalid to start with, then add in that the definition one was required to provide was only allowed out of three choices put forward by the poll commissioners. For example, if some asked you to respond to the assertion President Bush is: 1) Green, 2) an extraterrestrial or 3)a visitor from another time warp and then went on with a series of questions based on your choice (I chose an extra-terrestrial) that asked you to set policy for that person's treatment by government how would you respond? I explained to the pollster that I was deeply offended by the deliberate manipulation of the sequencing of the questions so that non rational and sometimes racist actions would be proposed as the only solution to dealing with "the extra terrestrial problem". Maybe they just read the Final Solution by Goebbels. Don't know. At the end of the survey, as you can guess, there was steam coming out of my ears. I asked to speak with the floor supervisor and got the name of the person who could be contacted to find out who commissioned the survey. I have a couple of very good guesses, but until I know exactly who it is I can't decide how to proceed. I was going to call them today but decided another couple of days to cool off might not be a bad idea.

My friend back from the hospital down east called wanting to go to one of the free breakfasts downtown this morning, but I needed to decline. First up I was trying to get all my references for the one job confirmed so I could submit them to the interviewer from Tuesday. I had emailed her asking how she wanted me proceed if I couldn't get everyone's consent by today. I felt I needed to do whatever I could to keep a positive impression with her. Couldn't leave until I had that response. I also wanted to read through the parliamentary report about voter fraud instead of reading just the synopsis in the newspaper. This time the reporters did a really great job of capturing the most important points in the recommendations, but there were some undercurrents one wouldn't pick up on unless one is involved in the process directly. Some fascinating hints and insights - good and bad. Secondly because I also am gluten intolerant I can't eat most of the food offered during Stampede breakfasts. Thirdly, I hate crowds at the best of times. Other than with my father and my sons I won't even go out to restaurants if it is a busy time. I do not enjoy feeling part of a cattle call. I enjoy spending one on one time with people I care about. Walking is great or going out for coffee. Even a concert, play or performance that isn't a free for all would be fine. Support the Arts you know. Maybe it's just the heat that's making me cranky, but I just don't want to go where more is being generated. Don't know. Can't be picky when one is broke, but I'd just as soon stay at home with the cats and talk to you dear diary.

Um well yes. A delegation of cats just walked into the work room dear diary and they are talking directly to me about something. Guess I'd better go see what it is they want. Maybe they are aliens too and want to have the right to express their views directly.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats