Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:07 - 19.05.06
in the news
There was a band of thick, grey-blue clouds at about thunderstorm height arching across the sky when I woke up this morning. To the west, over the rest of the city, one could see the sun burning down just as it had done the past few days. I decided it was a special blessing just for this community. The temperature still climbed to 26 C/79 F by the supper hour, but at least during the early part of the day it was much cooler. I took the opportunity to get some real sleep since I had that option. For those of you, dear diary, who think that is laziness, just let me remind you that I raised six children and rarely slept through any night until they were all young adults. Let me also remind you that for most of the time since the boys' Dad left I have averaged about 4 hours per night sleep because of parenting duties and the responsibilities of, often, two jobs as well. I've earned some nap time.

I don't have a lot to discuss as a result of the sleeping though. My sleep was so deep I don't even recall my dreams, although I was aware of being in some. What stuck with me most was some of the news stories in the e-zines today. There was this one about how severe the melting of the polar ice has become. That is downright frightening. A Calgary soldier was killed in combat on Wednesday on her father's birthday. The debate about whether Canadian troops should even be in Afghanistan still rages both in parliament and on the streets. Although this article was written with reference to two other western nations' activities, it also reflects opinions of the average Canadian toward some of our military commitments. In buddhist philosophy intention matters as much as action and this seems to be the issue underscored in the debate. In the interim, this is the tone of relations between Canada and the US lately. Two stories about whistle-blowing and the very real risks that are part of that. Of course there are connections. Where there is power there is it's shadow also. The good thing is that it is still considered newsworthy when someone in power is caught with dirty hands. Amen. On a happier note reunions and state of the union too. As for the Da Vinci Code? It was a very well written novel - a page turner. As far as it being an attack on any faith system? That story has been around for centuries. Texts found at Nag Hammadi in Egypt in the early part of the 1900's that were deemed to be authentic gospels, such as the Sophia of Jesus Christ, were echoed by the likes of Carl Jung. One of the most interesting prophets in the US, Edgar Cayce a devout Baptist, referenced this story in many of his readings. Almost all books written in the Judeo-Christian faith have been tampered with or rewritten to support the political ambitions of various leaders over time. The finding of ancient scripts like the Nag Hammadi scrolls, the Dead Sea scrolls and the Bablylonian texts underlines how much has been altered to take or validate certain geo-political agendas over the centuries often with great violence. One man's faith is another man's heresy.

However it must be time for bed since the cats are dancing on the keyboard, trying by stealth and cuteness to get mom to give them their nightly cuddles. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats