Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:00 - 20.05.06
pressure points
It was a housework-y kind of day. Just a bit cooler than the past few scorchers - for the likes of we northerners anyway - so that application of oneself to the domestic arts was something that could be pursued the whole day without worrying about heat stroke. I fed the cats tuna for dinner and the youngest a pot roast just as a reward for their forbearance and good nature with the discomfort. The problem is that no one is all that hungry. Just feeling dehydrated we are. Not much to write about really. Clothes donated to a local charity, washing up, cleaning and organizing a bit.

On the internet I researched awnings. I was amazed that I hadn't thought of it before as an alternate form of energy management. They're out of fashion in residential areas, but that doesn't mean they're not worth considering. One over the front door to block the wind while one is searching for keys and one of those for the balcony doors that can act as an additional sun block in summer and wind block in winter might be a very good investment. I looked at a few local websites and saw some unobtrusive and tasteful choices. None of the sites really quoted prices, so I guess that's part of what my decision goes down to in the end. What combination of choices will give me the most value for the cost. Next up, I looked at shelter belt trees. They work very efficiently for farmers, so why not add more living lungs to the earth while reaping the benefit of shade and shelter both. I checked some of the nurseries round about the city and many are already sold out. I really don't want to spend much until my tax refund in in my hands - don't trust the government - so I might have to wait until the autumn after all. As long as I have something in place before the snow flies.

I've been feeling as though I have developed foot-in-mouth disease the past week or so. Well more so than usual for a Sagittarius rising. Now part of that is the astrological activity right now. Seems everyone is feeling a bit rough around the edges and cranky to boot. Add in a sideways tone when trying to communicate anything and it just seems to make more sense not to say anything. I was going to do a bit of a mea culpa in case I had offended your sensibilities unknowingly lately, dear diary, since that would be the last thing I would want. However then I received my philosophy e-zine wherein the editor invited his readers to debate the issue of blasphemy with him. Who knew that sometimes "stirring the pot" was actually considered a service to the health of a democratic society. At least from a philosophical point of view. Because one of my astrological aspects at birth is a T-square involving Mercury and Pluto in opposition, with Saturn in Scorpio (oh my) as mediator; communicating with others has always been a bit of a balancing act - pun intended. Without being mindful of the Saturnian discipline - or playing to the hidden leg of the grand cross at 20 degrees of Taurus - I often find I can't even tell what it is that I've said that has set someone off. I think it is similar to that talent my Mom had of touching someone else's sore point, but without knowing it. My mother, the Scorpio, seemed to know exactly what someone else's flash point was and used it consciously to get and keep someone's attention. Me? I have no idea what is making someone blow like a volcano. My mom knew when and how to duck, while I don't even see it coming when I'm off balance. Sometimes though maybe it is something that needs to be said by someone and I just happen to be the universe's messenger. Don't shoot the messenger. I'm not choosing to go where angels fear to tread, I just don't see the landmines to begin with. Oh well.

Anyway those cats are campaigning for bedtime for their servant so I'd best go do as I'm told. Can;t be late for the morning rituals don't you know. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats