Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:55 - 24.04.06
clicking forward
Well today was better, dear diary. I often go to the amygdala site now when I'm feeling stressed. I can't account for why or how it works to rebalance my emotions, but it does. This morning I emailed the one employer for a copy of the financial/tax paperwork that is missing. One of the partners got back to me within a couple of hours to let me know that she couldn't locate the material, but that the partner who did file it would be back at work tomorrow. She said they would try to get it assembled for me when that person returned. I can't ask for anything more than that. Calls from some of my election staff on various issues were also featured. The first budget of the new government is due to be tabled in parliament next week. That is always a critical point in the fate of minority government's time in power. I really hope this one stays in office until the fall at the very least, but I have no control over that. Keeping in touch with my key people will make the transition easier if it comes to having to re-establish an office. Sigh.

Just after all those calls my Dad checked in. He had been vacationing in British Columbia and wanted to know how I was doing with respect to the illness that took me over for a while. He came by and took me out for lunch. I think he wanted to see for himself if I was better, since he commented that he really thought that I should have been in the hospital last time he saw me. Well yes, that is a great place to pick up all sorts of virulent bacterial and viral infections when one's immune system is so badly compromised. At least at home all I need to do is sleep. Sleep is good. He allowed I looked much better so that was progress of a sort. We talked mostly of world affairs and work issues. One of my cousin's husband has done two tours of duty in Afghanistan. There were four Canadian soldiers killed in a suicide bombing this weekend and several more were wounded. There are US, British and, I think maybe, German troops there too. Why would the current governments choose to put troops in such dangerous positions, when no western force has ever been able to beat the guerilla fighters entrenched in the region in all of modern history? Well yes it is a dictatorship and is barbaric in the way it treats its civilians - along with about 70 or 80 other countries. What is unique about this one?

Oh Yes. The geography. You see, it sits on the back door step of Iran, Pakistan and Turkmenistan too. Hmm. Those lines one sees drawn on a political map of western design have very little influence on the populations and governments of the region. Those human beings have been there in their tribal units for millenia and have their own way of viewing their lives and the outer world. Oddly enough, it has no resemblance to western thought in a lot of ways. Disapproval from westerners is not likely going to be of any assistance in changing the flow of political affairs there. Economic development might - if it is true partnership rather than an exploitation of natural resources. Think of what is happening in South America right now, for example. There is a theory that change agents tend to be those excluded from the main stream of any society. The reason being is that they feel they have nothing to lose. The greater the gap between those on the outside of society and those who are benefitting from the status quo is one of the predictors of the degree or otherwise of violence attached to that change. That in itself should be instructive of what is likely to happen if the people there don't believe that they are to share and have control of their own destinies once a transition is made. Funny how all human beings seem to value that isn't it?

Both the good news stories today were about the arts. First up was a bit of rebalancing of one injustice. That Canadian scientist turned novelist. Well his new book, that had very slow sales, has now had to go to a reprinting as his story has flown off the shelves simply because he was forbidden by our government to attend his own book launch. Hmmmm - maybe I should write......... Never mind. Next up was a travel analysis of the best musical events globally. Only two inclusions of North American venues. One in Texas and our very own Folk Festival here in Calgary. I heartily agree but does every event in this benighted city have to have a cow in it's logo? Couldn't we switch to horses or falcons or something. Even Moose would be better, although I think we might have a copyright fight with the Province of Saskatchewan (bless you) over that. Ther cloud on the festival horizon was the invocation at silly hall today of an old bylaw that might make the cost of the festival too steep for anyone to attend. The problem? A requirement to have many more uniformed policemen on site that would add a cost of $40,000 plus onto the organizer's bill. I don't recall ever hearing of any civil unrest attached to that festival's patrons. Mostly hippies and such y'all. Feel the love, don't you know. Hopefully some sanity will reign at that local level of government when they realize that they might just blow a real opportunity to increase our tourist draw by promoting this festival's reputation on the global level instead. Or maybe not. The final bit of good news? A call to babysit my new granddaughter in about a week. I'm so excited - gentlemen start your rocking chairs! Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats