Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:37 - 23.09.05
warehousing
Second day on a new, very different bus route. Got to the stop where I disembark and the driver calls back to me "don't ring the bell, I know you need to stop here." Wow. This is one of the ring routes that travels through the whole of the city. It is very heavily used, yet this fellow still remembers me after one day. That's impressive.

The saga of the computer glitches continued at the beginning of the day dear diary. However change came at about 9 am when we had a series of calls from tech support trying to figure out what the problems were. Because it is a security risk, the partition between the local computer terminal and our accounts at the main office is pretty much impermeable. No transfer of data allowed; only access to the software that is installed. That work which requires the use of both computer accounts means we have to travel from site to site. Tomorrow, then, is a day spent in the downtown office instead of the warehouse.

Other than the length of time I have to travel each way, I actually prefer the warehouse. Why. Well, because it is so secure - a bunker really - interaction is not encouraged. Means one is left alone just to work. There are two other teams of people in the site from rival companies, but the restrictions on moving about are such that an encounter of the verbal sort would be less likely than walking in to them at lunch hour downtown. I recognize one of the males, but can't quite put a name to him yet. When I had to walk past this morning he sat on their desk arms folded, just watching me all the way around the circuit until I entered the next work area. Hmmmmmm.

Added bonuses are that the warehouse staff are very attentive to our work conditions. Everything they can do to facilitate us is done as quickly and unobtrusively as possible. Security means our whereabouts is constantly monitored. Go outside for a walk - sign out and sign in. If you are missed or something isn't as it is expected, it is checked out immediately. It is a very busy place with forklifts and other types of motorized vehicles in use constantly. Safety practices are carefully enforced and everyone is very mindful and respectful of their co-workers. The main railyards are just a mile away so I can hear the sound of the trains all day just like I did when I was small where we lived about a mile from one of the mainlines coming in to the city from the east. "That lonely train whistle blowing...." any number of songs. The second in command and I continued our conversations about past childhood and work experieinces as we waited for the computer to move from window to window - not unusual for one change to take two or three minutes. Reading email - forget it. I had sent her a natal astrological chart by her email so we spent my break just talking about astrology 101, using hers as an example. I enjoy teaching so that is the approach I generally take. Give someone the ability to work with and interpret it themselves.

Anyway time for bed. Need to be on the next bus in three hours. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats