Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:21 - 22.09.05
Glitches
Well dear diary, the viruses seem to be winning, don't they. I've just spent a few hours cleaning up this unit just so I can log on to a screen that is other than black and open different software too. It seemed there was some little gremlin who had taken over the keyboard and my youngest noted that it was sending itself system codes. Great, whatever that means. At work same thing. Got to the warehouse on the new bus with about 10 minutes to spare. Just over an hour's travel including the walk I need to do out to the next community to get tothe correct bus stop. Logged in to the computer set up for us for remote access. Bounced out in the last stages of the multistep login with a password not valid - then disabled -message. Waited for the second in command to arrive thnking that I probably had missed a key instruction. Set up a spreadsheet for new work while I waited. Turns ut it wasn't me. She logged in with the tech on the line intervening. Got into her desktop and she was able to work with some of her software although it was so painfully slow that pencil and paper would have been faster.Then when we tried printing the whole house of cards seemed to collapse. No more productive work possible on that beast and no call backs from the tech even though multiple - polite - messages were left. We did assess a number ofboxes that had already been recalled for us and traded stories about past work and family dynamics.The visitor - our coworker -from Texas has been dealing with a personal loss so that explains some of the tension I was seeing. Good it wasn't work related but never good to hear that someone else is hurting, is it. One of our other counterparts was also distressed - trying to find a safe place for herself and her family before that next hurricane hits. Guess wonky computer aren't that big a deal after all. Anyway time for cuddles with the cats and reading with my youngest. Good night dear diary.Happy Equinox

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats