Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:18 - 12.06.05
Upswing
It was a counting your blessings day today. All of my young men checked in with me today. Number one son came by with his step son and a new used stove for me this morning. The old one hasn`t worked at all since about the time I came down with pneumonia. During that time until I recuperated I really had no ability to deal with the issue. I was more concerned with having enough money to cover basics. The unit he brought was one number three son had been storing in his basement against the day that he got his own place. They decided that I could use it while I stored it. The only brief problem arose when his step son propped the front door wide open. Fortunately it was the female cats who were roaming free in the house. There is only one girl not accounted for as I write but she is more likely still in hiding. Only one of the girls - Little Girl - even tried "outside" and she scooted back in within seconds. If it had been the males it is likely we would still be chasing them.

Number six son took off with them to take the old stove to the dump and to spend the day playing with my grandbabies. They were deep in discussion about the relative merits of the different Star Wars movies as they left. Their conclusion is that the latest one ranks right up there in quality with the best of all the movies. Guess I`ll have to go see it.

Number five son called to tell me he has been made manager of the new restaurant that he just opened up for the company he has been working with for the past 4 years. Not bad for a newly minted 20 year old. He allowed he was pretty intimidated by the responsibility. Biggest issue for him right now was staffing. He is now the mentor instead of the student with respect to the partnership the company has with the public school board toprovide career training. I don`t think he realized what that entailed. As well he still has to be certain that he has enough adult staff for the students to shadow plus make certain customers are happy. He asked if number four son still had two jobs. The sense I got was that he was hoping he could persuade his brother to give him backup for this season. Calgary Stampede - block party supreme from Canada Day on July 1st to July 17th - usually sees clubs and restaurants jammed to the rafters non-stop.

Number four son responded -when he dropped in for a wardrobe change - that he`d think about it. He`s been offered a promotion to managing in the business he`s been in for some time too, but he isn`t certain he wants to travel across town to that company`s newest outlet nor does he enjoy suprevising other staff that much. This might work out depending on the details. At the very least he though one of his buddies, who has worked in a nother major restaurant for nearly a decade was available, so that might work out too. Number two son called around supper time to check out the family picnic schedule for this month. Last I`d heard that was set for next weekend, today being my Dad`s birthday meant it wasn`t considered the best for trying to get together. Besides that this is traditionally rainy season so another week seemed sensible from that perspective too. Number two son works in the same industry as my sister next to me`s hubby and he had been certain it was this weekend. That was why there was confusion I think.

So in all I think things back at the ok corral are moving in the right direction. No one told me when I first got pregnant with number one son that it is the second 20 years of a child`s life that are the hardest. Parenting 101.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats