Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:52 - 04.06.05
TGIF
40 mm of rain in a couple of days. I like it. Clean fresh air and cleaner, greener streets too. Besides that there is no water rationing threat as long as this keeps up. All good.

Work today was interesting. Fred was still at it with my telephone. No response from the tech who is responsible and by 11 am I was getting a bit edgy. I'd arranged to meet one of the women I really enjoyed working with 6 years ago for lunch. I was worried that we wouldn't connect if she had to make any changes to our schedule. There was still just static on the line, so I tried dialling my own work number from my cell phone. The call went directly to the main reception service. Uh huh. I called the tech from my cell phone. She was a bit snarky until I told her about my calls being completely rerouted. Apparently that elevated my credibility in her eyes, there wasn't anyway that I could be blamed for that. Guess it's lucky I don't hand out that number very often, isn't it?

Elections Canada still doesn't use it though. Can't figure that one out. Got home to find a voicemail from their tech department citing an urgent problem. Could I call them back immediately and at once. I don't get home until the dinner hour on weekdays. Called back then and got voicemail. Hours of operation? 9 am to 5 pm Monday to Friday - Ottawa time - 2 hours later than here so 7 am to 3 pm. Well lets see then - my work day. I leave home around 6:30 am and return between 5 and 6 pm, Monday through Friday. Deal with that Monday I guess.

Working in the database, I found several strange entries for three of the superviosrs I deal with. Checked with each of them to verify what I thought I was seeing. Each confirmed they had no information with respect to the hundreds of records I was citing. Asked our supervisor how she wanted me to proceed or flag those records. No need. There are other databases that contain that information. Do the people in charge of those areas know about them? Well, um , as a matter of fact, no. So how are they supposed to do their work effectively then? This isn't supplementary information, it is core data. "Just don't wory about it." Sure thing.

Lunch with my friend was entertaining as always. Caught up on the goings on at the workplace we shared for three years. Lots of change and intrigue. She was really curious about my experiences the past year too. Just good company, good food and great conversation. I think I need that more often. Got back to work and was trying to find a listing of key staff in one of the companys bought out some years back in the library. The one supervisor came by asked why I was using the library. Well as a reference resource actually. "Most of the books are kept in boxes offsite". She handed me a history of the one company written by one of it's founder suggesting that I go home,curl up with the cats and enjoy the story. Sounded good, but quitting time wasn't for several more hours and it still didn't help me with the search I was doing. I will read the book though - one of those hometown boy makes good things. I finally found some of the information I needed on the securities commission's website and on the one regulatory body's website as well. Still no list of directors though. At the end of the day it didn't feel as though I'd accomplished as much as I'd like, but I guess I can only move as fast as the access to information and resources allow. Try again on Monday.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats