Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:55 - 06.05.05
Lemons
Aother quiet day dear diary. The telephone rang after noon and that is when I woke up. I was having odd dreams and was trying to stay in them. I think I thought the message was important. All I can recall though is being chewed out for not being well toned physically. Well yes, that would be lovely. How do I find the time or energy I wonder. The only other thing I recall is being on an ornate balcony - silvery white seemed to be the surroundings and the sun, in a deep blue sky, shone brightly outside gossamer sheers. There was an ocean not far away. I could see the beach and the vast stretch of deep blue green water, coral reefs changing the hue as the light passed over it. I seemed to belong there somehow and I was being welcomed home. I felt safe.

Then that phone thing. I got up because I was concerned I might miss a call from work. It was - in a way. Elections Canada - one of the finance people confirming receipt of the package I had sent on the way to the doctors on Monday. Everything in process and all was well. That sounded lovely but I still haven't been paid for the first assignment I did and a short second one was due for submission today. All I had to do for that was complete a spreadsheet with the mnames of all the new streets that have been built or are in process since the last election a year ago. My assistant and I had done most of the work for that during the last assignment so I'd left the keying for today because I was too sick to sit at the computer long enough before today. What took time was the verification of what we'd recorded against the city's databases. Three to be exact to extract all the information requested, such as number of units, address ranges, postal codes and that sort of thing. Just flipping between several windows and working with the paper maps. Total streets 63. Total new homes for just my area? Around 5000. Average population per home - 3. 15,000 new souls in less than a year just in new homes with a mobility rate of about 25% in more established areas with multi-family homes, senior's residences and apartments to add in to the mix. A lot of changes to make to the voters' list in a three week period. Postman dropped off more joy in the form of pick up notices. 12 to be exact. I know we received an email stating we were being sent a shipment of supplies but I don't recall what. Just what I need - get rid of as much old material as possible and I'm back filling up the empty space with more paper. I don't think I'm going to rush to pick up that. I still don't feel very well and I am not going to spend the weekend messing with boxes. I need to go to my downtown job on Monday, no excuses. I was finally able to keep down food for the first time this week so I know I'm on the mend as long as I take it easy.

Only other activity today was to watch Lemony Snickets. Yeterday my youngest went and got essential groceries with my charge card (sigh)the account being empty. Today he decided he needed to spend some of his tax refund and that was what he wanted. The show had it's moments - I liked the characters played by Billy Connelly and Meryl Streep. The story left me cold and there just wasn't a connection with the way Count Olav was played. Probably just me. It was kind of like the movie "Beetlejuice" without the sense of humour/whimsy. The children were sensibly preented and there were true moments of engagement there but I just didn't enjoy it much at all. I certainly wouldn't take any child under about 8 and even that with some trepidation. More a young teen gothic novel type story I guess and I'm not really into that.

Anyway the cats are really annoyed that they haven't had more of my attention today because of the work and the time with my youngest. Three of them are sitting on the mouse, the keyboard and trying to stick their rumps near my face. That's their idea of showing affection I guess. Guess I'd better go and do what I do to show affection. Feed them, of course. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats