Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:15 - 05.05.05
Comedy
Happy Cinco de Mayo. I'm still not at work and won't be until next week. Discussed it by email with my supervisor. I can't manage more than a few hours at a time awake and that is with no work occurring at all. It is making me crazy, but sometimes Mother Nature is stronger than you are. Right now she's the boss I guess.

The neighbours on our west side appeared to have sold their home last week. New neighbours moved in on the weekend and then promptly moved out again. All I heard on Sunday morning was a rather tense debate between the new people and the realtor about misleading statements and lawyers. Today, some of the people who are regulars from the old neighbours appeared to be moving back in. Sigh. These are the scary ones who like large fires and all night parties. Truthfully, I wouldn't advise anyone to buy their home without first letting the police know there is a change in residents. Otherwise, visits looking for some of the old bunch might be discomfitting. It was odd, because it was obvious that there was a surveillance team watching the house for about two weeks prior to the sale. I keep our doors locked, although I'm certain our watch cats would do a fine job of defending their meal tickets.

Not a lot of other things to say. When I'm really feeling down, like today, I like to watch the Disney movie Aladdin. Silly I know, but it came out just after the ex formally made his departure. Took my youngest and his buddies to see it as part of his birthday party. After months of being beaten down with the labels of single mom and every aspersion aimed at our type of family grouping, I found a lot of comfort in the idea of a diamond in the rough and the storyline that talked about quality of character being innate instead of driven by possessions or standing in the community. Sort of tells you how beat down I felt. Kind of feel that way now, but it's probably just the sickness talking. Just tired of fighting to keep my head above water all the time, while others seem to do so much less, but do better financially. Just whiny, I know. It was funny the other night when I was out doing errands with number three son and his girlfriend. We were telling her about all the comedies that I had brought home for the boys, just after their Dad left, to keep them feeling positive about life. My son and I were talking about some of the Marx Brothers classics - Duck Soup and Night at the Opera. His girl friend was looking at us blankly. We had to tell her to think of the scene of the Genie in the cave of wonders when Aladdin first rubs the lamp, so that she could appreciate the type of humour we were referring to.

Anyway I can't breaathe any more and the coughing fit has returned, so I guess I'd better go bed down the guard detail for the night and see if I can't get this disease under control before it drives me crazy. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats