Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:20 AM - 08.04.05
Mercury - again
I could not get out of bed when my alarm clock went off this morning. Woke up about a half hour later and realized I was going to have to boogie to have any hope of making it in to work at a reasonable time. I couldn't find any of my clothes and was running around the house looking for things too. That notwithstanding and in spite of missing both my regular busses, I was only 15 minutes late. Three of the women I sometimes chat with were also late today so we rode the bus together to the train station. They were deep in a conversation that appeared to be a carry over from an earlier discussion. I didn't feel like chatting much so I chose another car on the train so I could have some reflection time instead.

As I powered on my computer, the phone rang. It was the owner of the dance studio responding to my email from the day before. He wasa happy guy and just wanted to discuss some changes/alterations to the courses offered based on the comments the chair of the committee had made the day before. I explained that part of my responsibilities was to be on site the whole of the day to facilitate or assist in any way necessary to be certain my co-workers have the best experience possible. In short he gets a free volunteer to help out for the day. He said he has a studio in our sister city - Edmonton - as well as the Calgary site and usually the crew that managed such days was made up of the staff from both. He said that he would book me in with som sort of supervisory title. I just commented to him that that was very kind but that I was quite comfortable with being an "Indian" instead of a "chief" - get enough of that during elections, thank you very much. Besides that I want to feel useful and I'm certain he has staff who are a lot more knowledgeable about the administration of the program than I am. He also noted he had managed hotels in earlier endeavours so I feel comfortable that he has a good sense of what will work and what won't. The quality of the experience will lie within the comfort and attention to detail that the participants percieve - that's where I need to be focussed - right? The owner commented that he was planning to play today but that he'd get the revised plan in to me today so I could carry on with my next level of planning. Apparently it was his birhtday so he had gone in to work early so he could justify some personal time for himself and his family later. Interesting fellow.

Just focussed on that primary task for most of the day otherwise. Fred the ghost was being mischievious again. Went for a bio break about two hours in to the morning and came back to find that my cell phone had been switched to search my contacts list. Quite the poltergeist that guy - it requires pushing several keys to get in to that screen. Maybe he's related to Peeves (Harry Potter, y'all). At 11 there was another planning meeting for the open house that is scheduled for a week Tuesday. Some of the staff seem to have a really negative attitude toward the process. To me it seems fairly well planned and managed and we aren't being asked to do much other than during the two days of the event. Even at that all the extra work is allowed to be done during work hours and we get paid for it. I don't think some of these people know how lucky they are to work in a company that goes so far out of it's way to look after their staff. As usual there were a few peopl who couldn't find anything that was to their satisfaction but they wren't willing to do any of the work necessary either to change it. Except of course if someone else volunteered to take a job on - who me? - then they got quite annoyed that anyone else would "interfere". Just like parent council days. Oi.

One of the owners of the personnel agency I work through dropped my cheque off at the mailroom ometime during that meeting. It arrived on the floor at about 2 pm. I had called at about 3 to find out where it was and the mailroom supervisor explained where it was delivered to the floor so I could go retrieve it before something else happened to make it disappear - that Fred you know. The staff member responsible for delivery on the floor was just gathering the sky high stack up for distribution when I came by. I could see the company logo peeking through and just asked if I could grab it then. No problem. Got back to my desk and the phone was ringing again. My youngest just letting me know that the first cheque had finally arrived in our mailbox today. Could he see the cancellation stamp for the date of processing? No it was very faint and blurry. Uh huh. Couldn't have to do with some one making enquiries as to it's whereabouts yesterday could it?

Got home and found voicemails and emails from staff at Elections Canada. Didn't finish researching or responding to everyone who needed to be included in the loop unilt this 2 in the am. Think I'll head off to bed now though so I don't miss more busses tomorrow. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats