Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

-
Travel
Cold and blustery it was today. Snow of the tye that melts as it falls then freezes to a thin slick of ice in the street. I know this because I went out for groceries this morning walking gingerly down the street, wondering when my feet were going to fly out from under me even with my boots with the really good tread on them. I had decided I would do the shopping this morning because of the weather. It means less people in the store who, like me, crave some quiet contemplative assessment of what is available on the shelves. I was feeling a little blue about having to be out in wind but then I saw one of our wheelchair bound neighbour go zipping by me in his electric model. Afghan across his knees looking delighted to be out at all. There are several homes in the areaa converted so as to house people with physical disabilities. A few have the really high tech hot shot chars that they race up and down in with no thought to life or limb - theirs or anyone else's. I guess the leson is to find pleasure in the circumstances you find yourself in regardless of what those might be.

Went to the little clothing shop next door first knowing I could get really good panyhose for half the price and hoping that maybe underwear and a new bra might be available too. Big sign ver the window declaring that the store was getting rid of all its inventory so that it could close down. It was obvious that they were serious about it. When I stepped inside I saw several banks of shelving that were already devoid of any wares. I asked the one clerk why their owner was doing this. The store has been there since the mall opened over a decade ago and it has done very weel in this location. New owners of the chain have taken over. They're shutting everything down then will determine what their overall strategy will be. Eastern landlords. Well that explains a lot I guess. This store has been part of the reason I was able to survive with the boys and me being on our own. Great quality clothing with an asian styling that I prefer but at less than half the price of identical wars downtown. While I was going through the lingerie section trying to find what I needed the senoir clerk and I chatted about the whole scenario being played out. she said that they were slated to be closed by March 31 this year but that indications were very good that they would be given a last minute reprieve and allowed to continue existing. Hummm. I asked for the name of the managing company and said I would write expressing my opinion on the matter. Can't influence a decision if you don't speak up now can you? paid for my panty hose and sports bra - I think - that looked like the old tank tops I wore long ago. I'm one cup size larger than the average North American woman today according to the news report in our papers but I don't have much ize around the ribs. Means getting things that fit is a bit of a challenge. The top was intended to be worn in place of a bra but that isn't posible in my case. Not enough support, but it does just cover nicely my bra and it fits around the ribs too - bonus.

As I expected the grocery store was nearly empty. Got sme change at the customer sevice desk after hitting the ATM. Grabbed a cart and then coffee. Well actually it was 1/3 coffee, with the other two equal components being cappuchino and hot chocolate. Needed the nourishment after that long cold walk don't you know. Steered that cart with one elbow and wandered up and down the aisles listening to the likes of Eric Clapton. By takig the extra time to browse I managed to find a lot of bargains and remembered every items I had planned to get. Over bought for the freezer because I couldn't recall what was in there. Oh well. Means no shopping for a while then and that s not such a bad thing. Waiting for the cab on the way home I could have sworn the one gentleman was the double of my friend the astrologer. However he is a one of a kind type of guy and he has sworn up and down that he would find this climate way too cold for his blood. With today's weather even we native grown children find it too cold so I wouldn't really wish it on anyone else. Exchanged a few pleasantrie with him and the other gentleman waiting for their cabs as I was pulling on all the requisite winter gear I had stripped when I entered. Went outside to get those few lungfuls of fresh air that are one of the small pleasures associated with this weather. cold but clean and crisp. Clears out the lungs and inuses don't you know. Now it time for bed I think . Good night dear diary

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats