Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:25 PM - 09.12.04
Change
It's number one son's 29th birthday today. Never thought I'd get this far with raising children. I think most parents, when that first babe is born, are thinking, at most, about college or marriage for their child. Someone should write a parenting guide for the over 21 years. No one told me it would never stop.

Not a lot to say really, I start work on Monday. This assignment has me a bit buffaloed already. The date and scope of the work has already changed several times, as has the work partner I will have. Oh right, we're starting a project under Mercury retrograde. At least this phase. The first phase began - oh yes - under the Mercury retrograde in August. There is a definite theme building here. I've spent considerable time researching what I can about the company. There isn't always truth in advertising/websites, but at least it gives one an idea of the scope of the commerce, the players - maybe - and the culture of the company. This one has a really interesting ethics policy document. I was assigned to one company who had all the bells and whistles in their policy, required everyone to take the company workshops with respect to that and had even been provided with awards for their forward thinking. Problem was they didn't tell some of their managers,who continued to trundle along in the old ways - the Enron ways. Hopefully this will be different. I sifted though the history of the company looking at mergers, takeovers and divestitures just to realize that I had seen a lot of aspects of this company in different guises. Now, I have expressed the opinion to my father that this segment of the industry - even though it appears multi-headed (companied) like the hydra - also has only one body like the hydra. I speculate that all these publicly traded companies are really all owned by some guy named Bob who lives in Manitoba and is a middle manager in the public service. His revenge for all the nasty things people say about public servants. Oi.

Think I'm just going to take things slow and easy for the first while on this one. There is still a tension in my supervisor's voice I can't explain and the anger blowing off my tech from the election also gives me some concern. Frustration is high for some reason, but whether it will affect my work or not is a big question in my mind. I've juiced up my diskman and cleaned my CDs in preparation. I'm also finding that I might need to go through my closets to find some different clothes. When I went in to meet with my supervisor a couple of days back, I was quite disconcerted to find that walking to the train station on the way home I started to feel my skirt and related undergarments slipping off my body. Fortunately, a heavy winter coat allowed me to hang on to the errant waistbands without too much loss of dignity - at least nothing actually fell to the ground. Now I truly thought I had probably put some weight back on because of less activity while I was off work. When this happened, I rationalized that it was soooo cold that the contraction of the muscles and skin and the coldness of the fabric probably accounted for the slippage - as it were. But I've had to go out walking in both days subsequent and it is still happening with different clothes I put on. Makes me happy, of course, but I'm not certain how that is going to work with respect to the wardrobe. Lose my favorite comfortable, baggy, long sleeved/hemline clothes and have to look at more tailored, shorter, revealing clothes. Can I still maintain my current persona if the "look" changes? Strange even to have to think about it. Scary too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats