Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:09 PM - 22.09.04
divesting
I think yo-yo might be my best choice of names at work these days. Yesterday I was told to concentrate on scanning, when what needed completion was the disposition preparation. So today I came in prepared to scan and was told that the priority had shifted because of several contractual requirements that all have deadlines of Friday. Just as well I guess. One of the women was still working in the stacks from the outsource scanning company, when the brother got a personal phone call that had him needing to go out for a while on an emergency issue. That left the two of us - the young woman I had been left to supervise at the beginning of this contract and me - to get one goodly portion of the work done. Because of the nature of the properties that we were to ship, there has to be excruciating attention to detail and the documentation to back it up. Next cubicle over the co-ordinator was still blowing steam about her "silly" assignment. No she still hadn't done it. We were trying to pull everything necessary together for our project as she was complaining vigorously albeit somewhat more quietly than the day before. Worked through most of lunch to get the physical preparations done so that the courier could take it where it had to be on time. Spent the afternoon doing all the paperwork to support it. And the stacks of unattended data in my office grew another couple of linear feet. Oi. In the meantime some of the other technicians kept complaining that we weren't attending to their needs - why not? We understand their position but there has to be some reciprocity and some compromise. There is a slight chance that they won't have jobs if the company messes up on this project we're being asked to assist with. Downsizing has its value too sometimes.

The physical work was probably a good thing in several ways. Don't know why, but I was quite weepy and I was finding it very difficult to cope with being in the office at all - nope not hormones either. For the first hour when I did scan - before anyone else was in - I could hide in the cozy little cubbyhole I've been assigned that can only be accessed if one knows their way through the maze to get in there. No windows and no storage at all, even for pencils, but I like the set up otherwise. Apparently the entire records center is going to be demolished and rebuilt "soon", just after the renovation that was completed the end of last month. The entire records staff, plus all of the data, will be located in temporary quarters in one of the other office towers in the building - the one where my last contract that I loved was.

Just as well. On one of the first days I was working at my station, one of the women who has been a problem just in terms of being really rude, was standing at the entryway to the maze with one of the scientists. "Well look at this, it's as big as my office". Then whisper, whisper, whisper. I know, just let it roll off my back. I do as far as she's concerned - not worth my time or worry - but poisoning the work atmosphere with her venom is something else. Not going to matter now is it. Had my headphones on this morning listening to the CD I got with my zils. Martial and Middle Eastern drumming. Hmmm.

It didn't really help my mood at all, just hid it from observers. Once the divestment work began, the physical effort plus the concern for the brother and the other contract - she was in a car accident about three weeks ago and really shouldn't be doing the amount of physical work being asked - meant I had to focus a lot more on what I was trying to get done. How to get the most done with the least amount of damage to the other two people on my team. Seemed every person in the building decided they absolutely had to spend considerable time browsing the shelves just when we needed unimpeded access ourselves. The aisles were jammed with boxes of data either being brought in or being packed to go out as well. Some of the aisles are so packed with records that whole shelf loads of files can't be put out. Other aisles are nearly empty, because of the divestments of those properties they used to contain. However the space that is empty is not anywhere contiguous with the areas that are overflowing. It is hard, heavy lifting to move that much data and our deadlines all converge on Friday. There isn't the time or the staff to do even the basic work.

One of the software consultants was in in the afternoon trying to fix the problems we encountered yesterday. The other consultant however, who had the balance of the code to rewrite then attenuate with the on site IT guy, was nowhere to be seen or heard. Guess scanning was always out of the question today - it just didn't sink in until after lunch. The brother returned at about 3 pm and all of us worked late trying to get the tasks critical for today done. Tomorrow will be another "beat the clock" effort if what I've heard in odd snatches of discussion is correct.

Arrived home just before one of my election staff who wanted to claim one of the kittens. Bitter sweet in that I knew the kitten would be loved and well cared for, but would miss living with a houseful of brothers and sisters, as well as humans, who already are very attached. Mom came with one of her four daughters. The daughter couldn't decide which baby she wanted, so two were taken home together. Maybe it will stay that way or maybe one will be returned home - don't know. All the rest of the felines are taking it with sadness, just moping around. Anyone who says animals don't have emotions is blind, I think.

Sent off my revised resume to the international agency that asked for more information. My youngest has packed away some more of the elections boxes for me so there is a little more space to move around in in the living areas. Too tired to think about much more so I think washing my troubles out of my hair might be my last effort before turning in for the night. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats