Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 a.m. - 2004-07-27
Northern Light
See dear diary, I wasn't gone for long. Went and had a brief nap. Woke up to a glorious view of the Nrthern Lights. Huge curtains of pink and green light blowing across the sky.

At work more material coming out of the wood work. I took some of it to one of the women that I don't usually interact with - not necessary and not enough time to get acquainted. She actually got quite excited by what I had to show her - filled in some gaping holes in her web of information. This contract is supposed to be wound down in a week, but if I took on the work she was detailing it would be another month or two adding in the research documents that just showed up last week. Hmmmmmmm.

Got home and realized it was a family sort of time. Number four son, my Dad and two of my sisters had finished up working with the yard. The work I had planned to complete last weekend before the neighbours took over my yard and before I realized how hot it was going to be. The yard now looks fabulous, by I think I'm going to have to spring for a new hose. Number three son arrived just as supper came ready. I'd cooked chicken - which he has aalways hated - so I offered him the beef that was in the fridge instead. He was good to go with that.

Actually just about everything was a little more positive in his world today. He'd finally managed to buy insurance for his car. His Dad loaned him some money for his birthday last Saturday, so he bought it out of that. His Dad said he'll wait until the fall to ask for the loan to be paid up. Uh huh.

Anyway, long time coming that - access to insurance. He's had a car for a long time just not the capital to run it. Right now a young adult male, even with a spotless driving record can't get insurance for under about $3000 per year. High risk according to industry statistics. However, arrest statistics say that the profile of the average drunk driver is a male in their mid forties. If the insurers and the government agreed to the legislation that would increase the premiums for that group on the same basis, excess money being charged for the recklessness of their peers, they'd likely be tossed out of office very quickly. Oh and you think your vote doesn't count. That is the difference why one identifiable group is being taken to the cleaners while the other gets off scot free for essentially the same problem. Number three son plans to drive through the mountains to see his buddy in Vancouver sometime in August or September. Life is good when one had wheels I guess.

Any way it is really time for bed now dear diary - or maybe I'll just watch the sky for a bit longer - we'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats