Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:16 a.m. - 2004-03-09
Saturnalia
Remember my essay about my assistant being chewed out by one of the financial people in Ottawa for activating his credit card per the instructions enclosed with it. Remember I noted he had written a letter to the woman in question protesting her chastisement for doing so when it was their error? He let me see a copy of the letter after he sent it and I had no problem with what he said. The response came today. He was called by another financial person saying that they couldn't pay him for his training time in Ottawa because they had never received the paperwork for him. Funny thing - I used the HP computer fax feature to send copies last April so Elections Canada could get it in their database before the paper copies arrived. I sent a second set in with the November assignment last year. I reminded the woman in question, that we were not paid until every single piece of information requested was accounted for, in addition to resending the faxes with the log notations from April indicating they were received to her this afternoon.

Next my oldest son called and needed some revisions to his tax submission. Another hour there. Then one of the new Returning Officers called. He was having a meeting with his staff and he wanted me to explain some things to them about procedural issues. He has also had to replace his assistant twice and now his Automation Co-ordinator is unable to follow through - he is really sick, so is the back-up person. Could I recommend someone. Another hour gone. Calls back and forth with realtors and discussions with my Revision supervisor. Another couple of hours. I didn't get any of the paperwork I had planned to do completed today and that deadline is looming for Friday. I might just have to disconnect the phone if I can't catch up tomorrow.

Oh well, putting out fires - that's about all I did last election it seemed. Guess this is just practice for the main event. Upshot was I didn't make it to the doctor's either and that is one pattern I'm not going to allow to continue this time round. Saturn went direct today after moving backward since November - maybe this is just the last kick before things start flowing easier. One can hope I guess.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats