Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:46 p.m. - 2003-12-24
Eve - ning
Tis the night before Christmas and all through the house the aroma of cooked turkey can't be in doubt.

Celtic Christmas songs peal through the air. I sing too,hoping no one else hears.

My children are celebrating the Eve with their Dad, while visions of housework run through my head.

I've just settled down, dressed in midnight blue starred jammies, for a wee nightcap. (I know - bad poetry.)

Well not really. Number four son had bought a bottle of rum for a gift, but the bag broke and the bottle was smashed. A smidgen of rum was salvaged - just enough to give my coffee and cream a bit of a tang.

The kittens and mom are all nestled near the stove. Dreaming, no doubt, of toothsome treats tomorrow. On the TV, The Nutcracker Suite, danced by the National Ballet. I love the music.

Laundry, cleaning, and dishes are all just caught up. Now that the turkey is in the oven, I can focus on decorating the tree and sorting out the gifts for tomorrow.

Work today was very productive, with only a handful of other staff on site. All the records people were cheery and the talk centered on their visits to London, England and Las Vegas. What a contrast. I haven't had the opportunity to visit England, so I just listened to their tales. Stories told of some of the funny predicaments and experiences tourists and ex pats find themselves in through innocence.

I haven't heard from my supervisor for several days despite a number of e-mails, so I'm guessing he's slipped off somewhere with his family for a break. At least I hope that's what it is, he's usually very prompt with replies. I hope it isn't because the fatigue that has been a problem for him the last while has turned into the flu or some equally inconvenient seasonal ailment. R and the one co-worker who has been so angry lately slipped off the floor together about an hour before we left for the day. Coffee maybe? She came back looking like the cat who got the cream. Hope that doesn't mean anything negative for the other contract working with me, or for myself for that matter. Neither of us has done anything but work hard on our assignments, but sometimes workplace politics override all the effort one puts into a job. However, the only thing one can control is one's self, and even that can be a challenge some days. Its a waste of precious energy to worry about what someone else is up to as well, when that can't be changed or affected by one's own actions.

Anyway, five hours from start time I was back out on the train heading home. Wrapped some of number four son's gifts for him while he raced about getting dressed, after a long day at work. Called various family members to ensure my guys had a ride cross-town to the party. Bus travel would just be too difficult during holiday hours. There were already a lot of drunks on the train when I came home and that can be most unpleasant. This year the party is being held at number two son's new home. He wanted to have everyone try out his new hot tub. The weather is quite warm - low 50's F/ nearly 10 C. Not bad, but no snowbanks to roll in afterwards - they've all melted.

Me - I like the quiet time to myself. Think I'll have a nap before I tackle the decorating and gifts though. A demain, mes chers amis. Notes?"

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats