Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:52 p.m. - 2003-08-04
Day Dreams
Well someone must have been paying attention to yesterday's entry. I asked for prayers for rain. What we got today wasn't a soaking rain but cooler temperatures and intermittent showers have helped firefighters get at least some of the blazes to a standstill. Every bit helps.. The entire province of British Columbia is still on alert though. Three chains of mountains running north to south from border to border mean that once a blaze begins the valley becomes its own inferno if conditions are serious - and they are. It has been so hot that the fish in our river - the Bow - are starting to die. Yesterday the water temperature was 25 degrees celsius which is the very high 70's Fahrenheit. Not good.

I took number three son to dinner tonight to celebrate his 22nd birthday. He's one of my meat eaters, so we went to the Keg (steakhouse extrodinaire). It was THE place to hang out when I was a teen/young adult because the food was good, plentiful, and cheap. Now the good and plentiful apply, but the prices are certainly much higher. Doen't matter though, quality time with my guy was all I really wanted. We had a good chat about a lot of things and then headed off home. When I got to the train station there was a cool breeze and spritzes of rain. I decided to walk rather than take the feeder bus, to take advantage of the first really pleasant day we've had in a long while. About a six block hill at one section, not steep by any means but a constant climb. Forty five minutes later I was home.

I haven't lost much pacewise I guess. I used to do that walk when I volunteered partly because I sometimes just didn't have bus fare, but also because some of the work I did was very much influenced by political maneouvering that was not in the best interest of the commuities I did advocacy for. It was the time I used to de-stress and debrief myself. Worked like a charm. I always tried hard not to take my emotions out on my sons, but it was always just that much easier if there was some downtime between one part of my life and another. When I walked then it took about 5 to 10 minutes less but that's because of the adrenaline I was walking off. Today I was just savouring the day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats