Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:12 a.m. - 2003-06-19
Lightening
A full day today. First up on the bus, heard about a job posting in a company that I would like to work for. Made a mental note to check their website tonight for more details. Didn't like what I heard about the supervisors, but that seems to be an area where there isn't a lot of choice. I'm beginning to feel certain that the common traits are ones that senior management feel are necessary. I don't think they are aware how much lost productivity bullying behaviour causes.

One of the women I work with from another department chatted with me on the way into work. She liked the mix of east and west in my choice of clothing. I do too, but it's good once in a while to get feedback from people you trust. The blouse I was wearing sometimes causes quite a response in males but I'm not certain why. It did again today, from both eastern and western men. However, as I've mentioned before, clothing is another language among women, so as long as I "hear" the desired feedback from people I respect, I'm ok with being baffled by the guys - that's the norm anyway, isn't it?

A, my supervisor,called yesterday to ask me about my skill sets for a contract he's trying to secure - could I do it well? Yes, I think so. It would be working with contracts and leases, not in the discipline I usually encounter them in, but the skills are transferable. Also got a call from one of the agencies that I spoke with when I was looking for work at the end of last year. They think they have some work they'd like to try me with too. The recruiter said he would call A tomorrow to try and work something out - maybe co-ordinate contracts or set up an alliance between the two firms. I wondered a bit if the recruiter wasn't as interested in A as he was in me for employment - he seemed to know a great deal about him. Personally, I'd prefer to continue working with A, because I feel I can trust what I know about him and I've mentioned before, that just about anything is tolerable as long as your supervisor is supportive and will go to bat for you. Just wait and see I guess.

At my chiropractor's office big change too. One staff member leaving on maternity leave at the end of July; another very sick in hospital and probably not returning to work. Too bad, as they are both enjoyable to deal with. The one that is ill will be ok, but she wants something less demanding I think for a while. Anyway, that leaves one staff who has been part time and one new staff hire. It crossed my mind to ask about working there, but I have a really good relationship with my chiropractor now - would working for the clinic compromise that and would that really be a job I want? Would they want me working there? Don't know. Everything about work seems to be ambiguous regardless where I look - guess I'll just have to watch as things evolve.

My walking partner called just before lunch today. I had let her know about my appointment, but she called to check if that was still on. She's been a bit stressed about all her obligations lately, too much on her plate, so maybe she was hoping for a chance to just talk. Venting helps all of us move forward, especially when fatigue is really becoming an issue. It drains too much energy to keep things bottled inside. We'll walk/talk tomorrow.

Another walking on eggs type of day on the job. T2 returned to work on Tuesday and something is simmering just below the surface - don't know what though. I spent a lot of the day working with C and the students helping them in one way or another, but I'm also trying to tie up as many loose ends as I can before I go. Has to do with the need to feel I accomplished something worthwhile there, by my own measure and values. I was distracted by things going missing again. Documents and files as usual, but personal things too. I had packed some special tea for today but it was gone when I went to look for it in the afternoon - all that for feeling smug about remembering when I left for work this morning. Stuff has disappeared and then reappeared later from my backpack before, so maybe the tea will be returned before I leave, it's disturbing though.

One very hot muggy day today. Temperature at 28 degrees C/80 F. Announcement after lunch that the AC had cratered in the building and wouldn't be fixed for about two weeks. Add in the fact that the heat has been cranked up in the trains every warm day the past two weeks and it makes for cranky commuters. Leaving work today, the air gave that heavy oppressive feeling. Lightning playing cloud to cloud and dark enough that the street lights were coming on despite there being 6 more hours to sundown. Weather warnings being issued. Looking up at the configuration of the clouds, agreeing with that assessment. Rain started coming down just as our bus was entering the community. Relief in that, since it cools everything down.

Astrologically, a similar type of storm predicted for everyone on Monday and Tuesday next week - bolts out of the blue. If I breakdown and buy a lottery ticket can mine be a good surprise? A good job posting or assignment would suit me just as well. Maybe I'll find that "best man" from my dreams. Nah, what would I do with him anyhow. Bolts out of blue - can't hurt to dream I guess.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats