Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:53 a.m. - 2003-05-27
Pin Ups
Hail,yes. That sums up the day. Hot and muggy this morning when I was getting ready to go to my doctor's appointment. How to dress when massive flat top thunderclouds dominate the sky to the west? With the wind speed, I knew I wouldn't make it home by bus before the storm struck, so I opted for half and half. Light spring skirt, no nylons, but warm fleece top and my denim car coat. One half of me was always comfortable - that's the half I focussed on. Doctor was happy with my progress, but I can't figure out why I still feel so tired all the time. It isn't lack of sleep, I'm getting more than my fair share right now.

Continued digging through my alternative medicine books and magazines. Could be "antibiotic fatigue" I guess. Maybe a system cleanse will help. Stopped at the market that's in the same mall as the doctor's office. Every store carries goods from China or Japan - it's one of several malls that caters to Far Eastern families now living here and people like me. Picked up some miso paste, ginger root, rice vermicelli, herbs, and a few other odds and ends that are hard to find elsewhere. Big batch of soup coming up.

In the May edition of my "Prevention" magazine there's a photo of a cat that bears a very close resemblance to our Miss Kitty. Miss Kitty being a bit younger, with a black muzzle and that "je ne sais quois" that makes her so endearing. When the thunderstorm broke later in the afternoon, our young lady was under my bed in a flash. I guess she doesn't recall storms from when she was a kitten. There was so much hail that streets and roads were flooded and it looked as though it had snowed - again. The RCMP were discouraging travel north of the city because of white out conditions. Miss Kitty emerged from under my bed after the storm with her attitude intact enough to challenge my youngest to a wild game of tag/hide and go seek. She's a canny strategist and kept number six son moving for about an hour. Only problem was I was doing my stair climbing at the time, and found I had to do a lot of dodging.

Article in the paper today about the newest pin-up calendar being produced locally. Librarians' secret lives and loves (books and hobbies) - what is this world coming to? Come to think of it though, when our local firemen first put out their "Hot Stuff" calendar to raise money for the local burn unit it wasn't greeted with all that much enthusiasm. However, when it became evident that those public servants were working out instead of spending their days polishing their equipment in between fighting fires the calendars sold like, well, hot cakes - excuse the pun. Now they have a ladies only dinner and fashion show that is sold out before the first day is over. We have one of the best burn units in the country as a result. Go Librarians.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats