Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:01 p.m. - 2003-05-27
Dreamscapes
I'm having weird dreams again. The one this morning was about trying to fly (in an airplane) from Calgary to Jakarta Indonesia. I don't have any idea why I would do that and I wouldn't consciously choose it as a destination right now although there are several countries around there that I would love to see.

Anyway the journey was split between at least three planes and the layovers in between. Each airplane became less comfortable and there were a series of mishaps that made each layover a challenge. In the first layover, in Edmonton - our sister city to the north - we had to go through secret tunnels, down narrow stairs, starting from the steam room at the local Y to get to the next departure gate.

In the next layover, in Vancouver - our sister city on Canada's west coast - we were deliberately told the wrong gate by the airline's ground crew. When, after a long journey through a large shopping mall, and then a trip down what looked like a water slide (glad it was a dream)we arrived at the departure gate we had been misdirected to. Different airline and a different destination. The staff there said that the people who had misdirected us were notorious for doing that. They just liked to watch traveller's distress as they scrambled to make their connection on time - they would be waiting at the gate we were supposed to go to taking bets to see who would make it. This staff knew what was likely to occur and had already arranged transportation for us so we could catch the next plane. Jeeps I think, because we had to get to another building in the airport complex.

Next stop Hawaii(why couldn't I just stay there). Layover over night, so we were put up in a hotel. Older, smaller building maybe from the sixties, but nice rooms and good staff. Trouble here was a group of young men staying in the room next door. Wouldn't accept that I did not want to party with them, even when I showed them pictures of my sons. That happened to me once in real life when I was taking census for the city. One home was a "biker" hangout. The "gentlemen" at the door said they wouldn't give me the information I needed to record, unless I came in and partied with them first. I made about $1.50 per household. Uh no, I gave my supervisors an estimate of the number and ages of the people living there, but told them they would have to do the verification themselves. The "we" I was travelling with changed with each leg of the journey so I didn't know anyone well enough to ask for help. I ended up hiding out on a fire escape and napping there. End of the dream had me getting to the airport the next morning very tired and sore just wanting to get on the last airplane so I could nap in safety. Then I woke up.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats