Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:45 a.m. - 2003-05-08
Brick walls
Well, dear diary, I didn't make it in to work again today. I'm sure it's just the strength of the antibiotics, but I feel like I've been hit by a very big truck, or hit the wall or something. I don't usually feel discouraged for longer than an hour or two at any time, but today was pretty grim. So, I decided I would do little things that would make me feel like I was at least moving one foot in front of the other again. Managed that by the end of the day.

Kinds of actions? Well, stayed conscious for several hours at once, first of all. Sent in my timesheet so there will be some money in the bank next week. Sent out resumes and let my supervisor know that. At our last meeting, he mentioned that he wouldn't stay in the situation I found myself in for long. I just let him know that if there wasn't anything else available with the company I've been working for these past couple of years, then I'd go elsewhere. If the break around Christmas is anything to go by, it might take a while to find something that will work for me, but at least things are in process. Quite honestly, if I had enough money set aside I'd just take time off right now, but one of my guys has needed a little help financially, so all my cash is tied up right now. Entered a contest at our local community booster page for a holiday in one of my favorite mountain retreats. The link is kananaskis. This is the best I can do. Just remember it's like going through labour pains. If you break it down one inhalation or exhalation at a time you can get through it and it will end. I'm just overtired right now and I just don't want to deal with the garbage going on where I am right now. This too shall pass.

On the positive side, my oldest son came by again tonight, helped my youngest with some of his math homework and did some more job hunting via my computer. He is really enjoying the short term assignment he landed and would like to stay with that company. They've told him they like his work, but that summer is their slow period - they're already laying other staff off. They have asked him to come back in the fall and they are keeping him on as long as they can. Like it always happens when job hunting - he's been asked to several interviews in the past couple of days after several dry weeks. Found another job board that had a lot of interesting possibilities too. One step at a time - something will eventually click.

Did some reorganizing of my bedroom this afternoon. Miss Kitty was not impressed. Apparently, one must consult madame if one wishes to reorganize her territory. Found a bunch of books I had set aside that I really wanted "to read later". I still really want to read them - maybe next week. Something to look forward to I guess.

Anyway, time to go back to sleep. Maybe tomorrow there'll be enough energy to get me as far as the bus stop. That's 90% of the day dealt with - right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats