Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:05 p.m. - 2003-05-03
Rainbows
Everyone was wearing jackets indoors yesterday - except me, L, C2, and T2. Why? Well the conditions I've been dealing with in the library - either very hot or very cold - are now occurring on the quarter of the floor given over to the technical records team. Yesterday it was the icicle treatment. Who knows, maybe Monday will be tropical rainforest day.

The student sharing the library with me was struggling to keep warm,too. C2 is her supervisor and within hours of her starting she had all the resources she needed to do her assignment. T2 came by to check that all was well with her. First question? Do you have a safe place to lock up your purse? She turned and asked where I had been storing mine. B told me when I started that I could put my things in her credenza, but it is full of her stuff (not surprisingly), she had removed the key to lock it, and the door doesn't shut. It also meant I couldn't get to my meds or personal stuff, like my purse, when I needed them without asking permission to enter her office. I could have access then - if the door wasn't closed and if there weren't other people in there. B immediately offered the same key to her credenza to the student, L2, but then C2 supplied her with a key to one of the cabinets between our desks immediately.

I've got another ear infection and I think the work conditions do have something to do with it. Sitting in the file room cold air from the ventilation system blowing directly down on me, or alternatively the conditions of a steam room. My walking partner yesterday was complaining of the headaches she frequently has by noon too. The walk outside - downtown Calgary air quality is not even close to pristine - clears the headaches away. To me that implies that the air quality in the building from recycled air is probably pretty poor.

Went to see my doctor for another prescription feeling quite frustrated with the whole thing. He was thrilled with the vitals numbers but not with the ears. Upped the potency of the antibiotic and offered me some awfully strong painkillers. I don't ever ask for them, because I just find most meds too hard on my body,but I took the prescription this time. Turned out I couldn't use them anyway, the pharmacist pointed out they contain a derivative of the drug I'm allergic to. Just as well.

On the way home, cold rain downtown, but spring-like rain by the time we reached the train station. Warm and sweet smelling. On the bus an odd phenomenon with the light. Through the body of the clouds were woven the colours contained in a rainbow. No separation and no arch, just subtle multi-coloured clouds. Very pretty - I decided it was a good sign.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats