Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:45 a.m. - 2003-05-04
Cats
Well, Miss Kitty seems to have finally called a truce with her humans. Since her all-nighter with that tom she has been a cat with ATTITUDE. We won't list her naughtinesses, since they are legion, but suffice it to say she has been in the bad kitty box (travel case) a fair amount.

The worst behaviour, where I'm concerned, is the 4 AM "wake up and let me out!" sortie. Miss Kitty is an indoor cat. Her litter box, food and toys have secure and prominent placement in our home. Waking up at four am with a cold nose pressed up against mine; eyes like green flames staring into my eyes is not my idea of a good time. Especially when I'm having trouble sleeping anyway and I'm only getting a few hours sleep between work days as is. Then there's the "let's stalk the phantom mice across the comforter" and "dive bomb the human" from the curtains (which are shredding nicely) in the middle of the night too.

Anyway, as a result of said behaviour and others, Miss Kitty has been relegated to one of two rooms and shut in for the evening the past couple of weeks. She had her litterbox and food, water and toys - just no humans. Last night was her first evening of free ranging about the house. She was repentant and generally well behaved so we'll see if that lasts.

Her favorite toys right now are her marbles. She found a stash of my youngests'a few weeks ago in an old stlye Coke bottle. Went crazy trying to get them out - I guess she likes the shiny sparkly things inside them. She rolls and chases them all over all times of the day and night. When she's done playing she hides her most precious toys - in my shoes. Don't have to shake our shoes here because of snakes, scorpions or tarantulas, but trying to slip a shoe on in the morning only to catch one's instep on a marble or two isn't the best way to be brought fully awake either. Her favorite game right now. Plays "tag" and "hide and seek" with my youngest - that is fun to watch. Keeps him hopping too - good trainer that little girl.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats