Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:02 a.m. - 2003-01-06
Travel
I was thinking about travelling today. Not that I can afford it, but it was everywhere I looked. In the newspapers, reduced fares to just about anywhere.

Contests to win trips. I guess I didn't win any of the ones offering trips to New Zealand as part of the Lord of the Rings promotion - that would be a dream trip - but there are new contests for London, Paris, and all across Canada. I'd love to see our East and West Coasts by boat, and the Northern regions - preferably in spring before the bears and the black flies take over. There's another contest by our grocery store offering to fly you "home". For those of us born here, I wonder if that could mean to the home of one's forebears. For me that would mean any of the US, England, Scotland, or Sweden. Or maybe it means one's spiritual home - Tibet? Australia? Hmmmmmmm.

There was an article in Chatelaine, www.chatelaine.com about traveling well but cheaply in Europe by staying in monasteries overnight. I've always wanted to do a circuit of museums, chateaux, and churches in those countries via the waterways and canals, which is supposed to be economical and beautiful too. Dreaming again, I guess.

Travel of the mind was featured too. Course offerings from our University and colleges were being highlighted in the newspapers as well. When my ex left, one of the principals I had done a lot of volunteer work with, arranged for me to meet with the Registrar of the University. We talked for some time, and he told me I could still get credit for the time I had already spent in University, plus be given another year's credit for my volunteer work, if I wouldn't mind writing a paper about it - only one? He handed me their Calendar and suggested I go through and mark all the courses that interested me to determine the major and minor that would best suit me. It was easier, and shorter, marking off what I didn't want. At the time, the idea of finding some way to support myself and my six guys, as well as study, was just a little too overwhelming. But I also met the head of the distance learning college at the time who had raised six children on her own, then went on to get two degrees, so I don't see why I can't do that. The question is, do I need two degrees for what I want to do? Probably not, but a few more courses under my belt can't hurt. There are a lot of e-courses available now, so maybe, once there is some money coming in again, I can enrol. We'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats