Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

16:49 - 05/21/2018
Vandals
Well hello Dear Diary. I know it's only been two months, but it seems right to talk with you.

In the interval since my last entry A+ and I have visited the local museum's new exhibit of Frida Kahlo's photos. I must admit I was disappointed, having expected to see at least some of her paintings. No such luck. Sigh.

My friend invited me to another National Geographic lecture by the photographer Cristina Mittermeier. She has worked all around the world from the Arctic to Antarctica. A strong narrative about effects of climate change ran through her talk. Very courageous in a city/province owned and operated by big oil. Let's just says her reception was somewhat cool. I was embarrassed by my fellow citizen's response, but not surprised. My friend had just returned from visiting her daughter who now lives in France. She had some fabulous photos of Montpelier that she enjoyed sharing with me.

A+ and I also went on a Jane's walk. One year we went on a tour through Union Cemetery and tried to walk through the Reader Rock Gardens right next to it on our own. Guided tours do provide considerably more information and, because the past winter was so long and dire with the spring following slow to take hold, we had the opportunity to get a good look at the garden's structure/bones. I was able to tell our docent, Scott, where to find one of Mr. Reader's few published books. My grandfather was a proper English gardener. That book was as precious to him as his Bible. When I was volunteering with the Parks Foundation, I gave it to the botanist who was over-seeing our zoo gardens at the time. She would know where it has gone. A+ and I plan to go back - maybe next week - to see the early spring blossoms that would usually have been present when we visited. There are monster size bees and wasps busy in my backyard, so I am guessing the gardens are fully in bloom.

Mothers' Day. Well, yes. Some time the evening before or that day, it appears someone decided to break into my home. I have a solid core wood door for my entryway. One can see marks all around the locks that look like a crowbar was used to try to gain entry. The wood was badly split around the locks and one set of locks was broken. Odd, because it must have been noisy, and yet, I don't recall hearing anything.

A+ and his tenant - a finishing carpenter - came over the next day to secure the door for me. I was so grateful for that, because I wasn't feeling too safe in the interim. The carpenter seemed to really like that door. He said it would cost a fortune to replace it. Being on disability means I have very little to no money for such repairs. They fixed it for me at no cost. My youngest son came by a couple of days later to take me to the hardware store to get the supplies the carpenter said I would need to complete the repairs. My son bought those supplies for me as well as a hanging basket of flowers, so Mothers' Day worked out ok for me after all.

Today I was out in my backyard fussing about, when I realised that the Grecian Urn that had sat by my front door was lying smashed to pieces by my back balcony. Triggered some paranoia from the past. Another friend had dropped off more of her manuscript for me to edit. We got to talking about some of the Human Rights volunteer work I had done years ago. There had been significant vandalism to my home and threats to my children then, that could be tied back to some of the people who opposed those rights. I have been posting a great deal of material on my social media accounts to debunk their assault on public knowledge/discourse lately, but I don't think that triggered the most recent vandalism on my home. It is probably just people who are finally free of our winter's grip and are feeling edgy as summer approaches. Right? Talk with you soon dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats