Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

15:40 - 01/25/2017
Roosters and Things
Happy Chinese (almost) New Year, dear diary! Fire rooster this year. Seems fitting somehow, given what's occurring globally, doesn't it? I'm looking forward, already, to the arrival of the Year of the Dog next year. Deep breathing might get me through this one. If it's any comfort, the cock goes to sleep at the waning of the day (year). Maybe we have that to look forward to - an easing of the barnyard drama, that is.

My birthday is very near. I hear that my daughter-in-law is booked to induce labour this weekend. I can't wait to meet my newest grand-daughter. I went to her older sister's sixth birthday art party a few weeks ago. That was a lot of fun. I love being around well-mannered children - both my grand-babies and their friends. I got to visit with a couple of my sons and their wives too. Bonus. My one artist grand-daughter painted a spectacular mountain landscape during the art part of the party. I'm so proud to see how well she is developing.

I was sick the entire month of December, so I did very little. I didn't want to infect anyone else, of course. I did look after my youngest son's children one afternoon while they were moving house. Much more room and a rent-to-own situation that is a lot better for them - I think. The girls didn't have to change schools, so there is still a lot of stability in their lives. Their Mom and older sister seem a lot happier too. Progress.

My Dad is progressing well too. He goes back to see about cataract surgery for both eyes in early February. All he really wants is to have his driver's licence renewed.

In November, an old school friend reconnected with me. She is trying to get a new business off the ground, so we had a fascinating discussion about the ins and outs of her endeavour. The business is located in North Africa in a country I have always wanted to visit. Fascinating history and gorgeous architecture.

Went to see "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" as well. I still think Ms. Rowling is an accomplished astrologer. Her story arc echoes both the rise of the Nazis and the new US government. I have heard that there are five movies planned for that series. I am intrigued with what they might reveal next. As I've noted before - I think movie producers are extremely prescient.

Last weekend A+'s aunt and cousin invited us out for dinner for the Chinese New Year. It was yummy. I don't think I wanted to eat for the next couple of days.

A+ and I also went to see the new Star Wars movie this month too, when I felt stronger. It was excellent, but a bit bitter-sweet given the ending. I miss Carrie Fisher already. A+ also made certain I got to see the new Sherlock season. Loved the stories, but it seems the threads of a few more episodes were woven into the mix. We'll see.

Then there is the adventure with the kitten stuck on the roof next door. Last week, I think, I kept hearing a cat crying nearby, but I couldn't find it no matter where I looked. Finally, on the second or third day, I happened to glance up toward the neighbour's roof. There was the tiny outline of a cat. The ladder I have wouldn't reach their roof, so I called around to several different help agencies. They all said that wasn't something they looked after. But it is still winter here and snowy and cold. Talking to the kitten drew it out into view. It looked scared and hungry, so I needed to keep trying. Finally one agency suggested I call the non-emergency fire department number. The gentleman who responded sounded very concerned and said they never like to leave animals in distress. He sent out a crew who arrived within ten minutes, I think. They had really long ladders and young, healthy men who could shinny up them easily. They tried knocking on both doors of that building to ask permission for being on the property, but neither family would respond. Being that the families are both renters, I don't think they had any authority to grant permission. Finally, the firemen climbed up on to the roof looking around, fruitlessly. The cat had disappeared. So, they finally left after it appeared that the cat had found it's own way down. Enough drama for one evening.

Number four son is still living with me. He went to an educational orientation this afternoon. Maybe going back to school will calm him down. He has been so angry this past year and I have been on the receiving end of a lot of it. It has been very stressful. I hope all goes well now. Maybe he'll find some kindred souls among his classmates. Thankfully he has a couple of really supportive buddies and I am very grateful for them.

I need a nap now dear diary. Thank you for listening to me once more. Talk with you later.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats