Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

19:03 - 12/15/2015
Happy Days
I keep telling myself that I'll write to you when the weather turns nasty, dear diary. It is still quite balmy for this part of the world, so I've been enjoying outdoors instead. It hasn't been this way since 1988. El Nino that year too. Our city hosted the Winter Olympics. I recall officials having spasms over whether there would be enough snow for the outdoor events. That might have also been the year I found myself wearing summer togs on Christmas Day. Quite extraordinary, for that time of year.

So what have I been up to since the end of August? Well, walking with A+, of course, visiting the outdoors and taking photos. His Dad treated us to a visit to his community for the mid-autumn feast. I was the only one who couldn't understand the speeches, but dignitaries drone on in any language, don't they?

The federal election here was actually a nail-biter this go-round, with the third place team finally capturing the flag for the next four or five years. I felt as though my "Dark Night of the Soul" was at an end as I watched the changeover in government. It is just beginning to sink in what that might mean. Yay!

My community is beginning to feel better too. One day I ran into a young Mom and her small daughter coming home from the girl's day at school. The young lady was wearing a Disney Princess dress paired with surgical gloves. Mom had surgical gloves on too, while carrying a large garbage bag and pushing a stroller carrying a small boy. I asked what the gloves were for. The Mom responded that she and her daughter picked up litter on the way home from school every day. Given the amount of litter the high school students toss they would have a challenge every day. I thanked the Mom for her wonderful approach to parenting. Lead by example.

Another good sign of change in the community is the newish police training facility a few blocks from my home. I have noticed, over time, that the young cadets are sent out into our community to practice their street and community skills. The biggest risk to me now, is getting run over when they stage their bike and motorcycle races. I can dodge the occasional runners though. The airport has opened new runways that have diverted the constant flight traffic over my home - used to wave at the pilots, they were so low and close.

Yes, this community is becoming gentrified now. New neighbours moving in are often older couples who are down-sizing from their larger homes. They are planting flowers and building things, like fences, to tidy up the look of the street. I loved watching all the small ones growing and playing, but flowers and tidy yards are nice too. Even received an early Christmas baking package last night from my next door neighbours. Just feels a lot happier here.

A+ and I were invited to a grown-up Hallowe'en party too. He met the hosts at some of the comic conventions that he and his business partner attended. All seers and psychics. It was most entertaining. It was something I participated in somewhat haphazardly and without any thought or specific direction - I used the techniques to facilitate my community volunteer work - during my earlier years, so I felt right at home among them. The hostess was trying to recruit me to work with her by evening's end.

A+ and I also attended a cast party in October. It was rambunctious, to say the least. An Opera company and all their support staff. I was sitting at a table with some of the singers. Voice lessons were being undertaken as one of their leaders was present. Reminded me of choir practice that I went to when I was in school. Our teacher was the daughter of a well-known conductor, so she was exacting in how we enunciated the notes and how things were timed. Miss those days too.

My number five son just bought a house. He proposed to his long-time girlfriend almost exactly a year ago. Slow progress, but I am excited and proud of them. All my sons seem to be building happy, productive lives now, so I feel all the work that went into raising them has been more than worth it. 15 grand-babies and counting. My oldest son visited me on the weekend with my oldest grand-daughter in tow. She is the one going to art school now. She is a delight to spend time with. My son and I reminisced about the "old days" as I had "White Christmas" on when they arrived. We all chatted about the evolution of fashion, such as it is, and social mores as well. Got to go tell stories to my cats now, Dear Diary. They have been waiting patiently.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats