Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

14:24 - 01/12/2015
Eventful
Well dear diary - it's been a while again. I needed time to rebuild my strength after a long winter shut indoors. Our warm weather is only about five months and I wanted to take advantage of that to get healthier again.

Meant A+ and I were out walking at least once a week - usually 6 -8 kilometers. Sigh, not enough, but better than before. A+'s new tenant even took us out hiking in the mountains one glorious day. I think he and A+ wanted to show our mountains off to A+'s student who was visiting from China, who had been invited here by A+'s Mom just before she died. 8 km hike in Johnston's canyon - paved like a parking lot it was, but still beautiful and challenging nonetheless. Went to see Lake Louise and Moraine Lake too, as well as Banff. Very busy. A+ spent the autumn working with his artist buddy at his buddy's home and at comic conventions, so that kept him tied up but happy, I think.

I also was reluctant to post anything after the swat team raid of the house to the west of mine that I had mentioned last entry. Around that time, there began a series of arsons in my back alley in the middle of the night for over a month. I was guessing it was one of the disgruntled tenants who was evicted from next door, but it is hard to know. One incident was right across the alley from me, while that same night the neighbour's (a few doors down)fence and shed were set alight. Men from across the back alley to her must have been watching, because I saw and heard them rush across to help put the fires out. Yes, I was up almost every night watching as I'm really afraid of fire and I wanted the longest time to get my cats safely out of the way. My family and A+ have since helped me get enough pet carriers to accommodate them all, so that was one plus, I guess. The arsonist must have moved on in August, but I was still jumpy for at least a month. There were still arsons a few communities away - mostly here and there targetting families of Asian origin Hmmmm.

I also didn't want to reveal that I was house sitting for neighbours who had to attend to family business thousands of miles away. They have two gorgeous cats, so I went everyday to care for them. They loved story time too. Lord of the Rings that is. Curious, that was when Neptune turned retrograde then went direct - the two times that they had to go. The second Neptunian influence brought the coldest and snowiest weather we had had that year, but it did get me outside everyday and walking.

I also had a really severe reaction to one of the main medications I am prescribed at the end of July. Took me over a month to recuperate from that and find another way to deal with things. No more daily needles for me. The doctor then sent me for tests on my endocrine system, which is what I thought was the source of the problems to begin with, an imbalance - two whole years of misdiagnosis and inappropriate treatment. That's what has become of our health care system, which is now run solely by accountants, I think. Worthy as their goal is re: cost-cutting, I think it is costing much more to the economy, as well as damaging or destroying patients' lives with the poor quality of medical knowledge available. "Culling the herd" is the phrase I've heard once too often.

In the autumn, my bathroom and kitchen took a lot of my time and attention. After decades and six boys using them, with no money or skill in maintaining them they are falling apart. I don't really have any money to fix them now, so I am trying really hard to adapt how I work in them. My oldest son's step daughter - who moved out in October - wasn't fond of all the inconveniences, but never offered to help with anything either. I think my tipping point came when she dumped all of her clothing in my washer, thus breaking it, then just took off for a week leaving me to wring out the wet things and try to drain the beast too. Sigh.

Christmas was pleasant though seeing my sons, family and grandbabies always makes me happy. A+ and I spent Christmas and New Year's day together too.

Need to go now to get other things done dear diary so I'll try to post something soon. Thanks for your patience.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats