Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

20:11 - 08/22/2013
The eyes have it
Home alone again, dear diary - it's becoming a theme isn't it?

Went to the opthamologist yesterday. It took me two hours to get there by transit. Met A+ part way and had a greasy burger for lunch. Boy have I missed that treat. We walked to the nearest train station after the appointment. It was about 2 kilometres all together - over one mile anyway.

He - the eye guy - was wearing a cast on his left foot. He was a bit defensive about it. I guess he had been told it wasn't that severe an injury. But almost being 40 his recuperation depends on whether he takes care of that foot or not. Think of the foot as a shock absorber when the body is in motion. He was running and playing tennis he said when he injured it. He is on his feet all day with patients, so he needs to guard the small bones and ligaments until, at least, they repair themselves anyway. As a doctor he is trained to think about preserving bodily functions for nearly a century now.

I have been curious about the source of the blood clot that damaged the nerves in my brain. My blood is usually quite thin and runny. I bleed easily. So ketchup veins is not my issue, I asked the doctor if the impacted, sometimes abscessed, wisdom tooth could have caused that clot. He said it was a good possibility. We discussed the cost of dentistry for a while, I simply can't afford that any time soon, nor even while I was working. I would have to take out a second mortgage and that isn't going to happen. Bleagh.

That is one thing that our health care doesn't cover, yet it is known that the health of the teeth have a profound effect on the health of one's body. Oh well, why be sensible when prescription drugs and shiny machines can be bought - about 30% of which is estimated to be useless or a danger to patients. Cull the herd - our elected officials have opined.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats