Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

19:08 - 08/17/2013
Mali et al.
A+ and I went a couple of places today. First up "A Taste of Calgary" hosted near my favourite market square. Not expensive and plenty to eat, as long as there are at least two tasters. The idea is for city restaurants to offer samples from their menus for those who purchase tokens for $1 apiece to try their wares. Most samples are from 2 to 5 tokens. We shared the items, so we could try a lot of different samples before we ran out of tokens. We tried Thai, Greek, Indian, Caribbean and Pinoy fare at the food fest. Yum.

Then after our gastronomic adventures we headed off for a different kind of cultural activity. Wandered down the big downtown pedestrian mall. Lots of welcome, happy tourists. Next we went to our busy local museum. Featuring a display of M.C. Escher's art, they were. It seemed his work was mostly located in Italy or Holland (Dutch). I saw two different sets of pictures, depending if I was looking with my right or left eye. Hmm.

There was also a display of modern art - Canadian that is - or prairie paintings. Then we headed off to view the Asian/buddhist exhibit and the West African displays. Spooked one young lady who kept remarking, to anyone who would listen, that she just wanted to get out of the exhibit. I think it was the African shamans' dancing that put her in flight. All interesting.

Finished that up with the rock/mineral displays, but skipped the warrior and local aboriginal exhibits, as we had seen those on a couple of previous ventures. A+ had coupons, so it wasn't too terribly expensive a day.

It was really hot even early in the day when we were travelling. We walked or stood a fair amount, so I was tired by then. Headed home on train, then bus.

I think the lady bus driver remembered me from previous outings. She greeted me as an old friend, even though she is kind of short with other people. The local comedian I've mentioned before was also trying to scope out how unbalanced I was. Stopped dead in front of me, while we were heading for the bus stop. I either had to stop quickly and detour around him or fall into him. I chose the detour. Should have smacked him with A+'s cane. The cheek of him. Oh well.

Got home to find the landlord just arriving next door and the grandbabies playing in the tub. Went and had a nap while waiting for my turn in the shower. My turn now, then more reading. Talk with you later, dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats