Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

18:20 - 07/20/2013
Health and Safety
I missed a few entries dear diary, because I caught some flu-like virus from my son's family. Knocked me out of commission for several days.

The first sign of trouble was when my 3 year old grand-daughter started vomiting the day after their trip to the Stampede. It worked it's way through that family until I finally succumbed. Bleagh. I suspect that when the big flood scourged the grounds of the old, blown-up General Hospital, as well as the grounds of the city's first private, for-profit hospital near the Stampede grounds and the tuberculosis sanitorium near a very large, very busy public park that more than the old dirt was stirred up. No cleaning of the contaminants before the incident - not anticipated to ever happen. I wonder what other illnesses are being spread downstream around the countryside as a result.

I know for certain at least one of my sons is involved in the clean up after the deluge. I warned him to keep his mask on and to wash his clothes thoroughly after each shift, but I see photos of volunteers wearing really skimpy outfits or exposing their bare skin to the detritus. I think another flood is about to hit this city. I know my lungs felt as though they were burning after going into the flood zone - I know, canary in the mine syndrome. I hope I'm wrong.

There is a festival of some sort scheduled in this city every weekend starting at the end of May. They usually involve music of some sort. A+ and I usually attend to take photos of the partiers. We went to a festival of Latin music today. Reminded me that my favourite part of the day is standing in front of the amps as they make my breastbone and, if I'm lucky, my spine vibrate with the bass. That's what I consider real music.

Feeling tired and a bit queasy at the moment, so I think I'll go take a nap before my son's family returns from their travels. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats