Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

15:06 - 09/26/2012
metrics
Well, it's been a month dear diary. Of endless medical appointments, reached by train or bus. Exhausting. Or outings with A+. Fun. Stimulating - dim sum downtown in Chinatown or the zoo or "just walking". The sense of threat has gone, oh yeah, by being overwhelmed by my Dad's new partner's agenda. They referred to her as the "E" factor at the hospital, where I went for most of my consultations, and laughed nervously. Apparently, she abused her past authority by raising quite a stink about my progress/care. I think she wanted to offer transition care for patients after they left the hospital and she saw me as a foot in the door. She was always commenting on cost and time, even though my Dad, and the province, was footing the bill. Still much cheaper than close to $900 per day per hospital bed. It was in her best interest for me not to get stronger.

I am off half the meds that I was sent home and ordered to take. Serious risk of fatal interactions or no benefits according to long-term medical studies. Metrics set up to push drugs in an anorexic's dream.

Using the BBC's publication of the tool created by the British National Health Service it took my vitals and noted I was closest to a Swede in a medical profile. Well, yes, that is part of my genetic heritage. Metrics significantly different than those pushed aggressively by local medical people all worried about their accreditation to practice in this province. A danger to my health. Good feedback from the one European in the group.

I have been discharged from all medical care, except regular doctor check-ups, even though the physio asserted I wasn't strong or steady enough to go back to work. True, I fear trying to use transit while coping with snow or ice of our winter season, but I could work from home if something came up.

Did I mention I have managed to take the bus and walk to the local strip mall on my own? Not happy experiences,but ones that gave me a great sense of accomplishment.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats