Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

14:55 - 08/22/2012
Eye spy
I mowed my backyard today 1.5 hours. Needed a machete after two months of neglect - poor thing. I had no idea how much backward walking there was or how much one balanced on one foot trying to avoid tripping over the electrical cord.

I was sent to see an opthamologist on Monday. Concern over the effect of diabetes on the retina or bleeding from the stroke - so they call it, having no term for a single blood clot in the brain. Not an aneurysm either. Hmmmm.

Anyway A+ collected me at my home just before 7 a.m. and we arrived back just before 2 p.m. Buses mostly - travel time - with a wander through our downtown to visit and drop off DVDs to his Dad. A+ does videography and his Dad performed with his band at a summer street festival.

My oldest son gave me his blue-lensed John Lennon-look prescription glasses when my contact lenses disintegrated in my eyes at work over four years ago. I have had nothing but positive comments, often from young adults, about how good they look on me. I was hoping the doctor didn't tell me I needed a new prescription. He said my right eye had perfect vision and my left had the potential for same when the nerve damage was overcome and the ptosis of my left eyelid diminished. I was alarmed about the damage to that eye and it's muscles after a prolonged period of disuse. The area around the iris was starting to go cloudy at the top - except when exposed to direct sunlight. What I saw when only using that eye - I bought a patch for myself, recalling treatment of kids in my classes with "lazy eye" - other than developing a powerful headache, was right out of novels. Upside down, reversed images that the brain couldn't interpret. Pretty much what one would see if the cones and rods in the eye weren't transmitting signals along the nerves to the brain. Hmmmm. I was seeing in colour so that part of the nerve has regenerated. Dangerous to try and navigate down a street; since I can't see all the traffic at once as it is - nerve-wracking, if you will. Bleagh, still need a protector outside even though I prefer being independent.

Walking a distance depends on me having good, well-fitting shoes and being off the statin I have been told I have to take. The pharmacist told me that class of drug 's side effects includes muscle-wasting and pain. No kidding! Agony of the tibia and the right foot when walking. I go visit the doctor on Saturday - maybe he will absolve me of the responsibility of taking that poison.

Any way got to go. Need a nap. Oh, International Bill of Patients'Rights includes the right to refuse any treatment. Posted on my gynaecologist's office wall many years ago.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats