Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

15:22 - 08/18/2012
measuring up
I can finally do it by myself. Right-sided ataxia (good thing I'm left-handed, eh?) meant I couldn't get my bra fully done up by myself or get a scrunchie wrapped around my hair/ponytail. "Go buy" chirped the health-care providers, but they forgot I had no income. Also the products I needed had to fit me - no cheap, poorly constructed, substandard materials on which to waste precious money. They had to fit and promise to last a long time. My Dad commented they had to pass the European shoppers' brutal tests for fit and wearability.

My bra is 34D lace a three row hook and eye affair. Hard to find even when in good health physically and financially. Western made brands only for me to be comfortable. Women's unmentionables have to be the foundation for all other layers of clothing. What clothing is on offer in stores? Short or no waisted, no bust or full of foam, no hips to speak of; I don't look like a little boy. I come from solid British/Scots/Swedish genetic stock, which means generous curves for female off-spring. My hair has grown to waist-length, so a good scrunchie is not easy to find either.

Shoes - well after 6 babies flattened my feet, no cheap knock-offs will do, although my physiotherapist was in despair of me successfully walking in my one time only dumpster-acquired, leather shoes, that I had worn so much that the soles were worn through. Down at the heels, as she said. She emphasised that I needed good support around the heels so that I wouldn't trip, a constant danger walking with A+ - he has massive feet and treads on my heels often. One of these days I'm going to do a face plant, leaving me with a bashed up face to match the rest of my body. The body that has betrayed my careful exercise regime. Right-sided ataxia means the muscles don't hold me up or in on the right side. Pain on the left from trying to hold it together. Bleagh.

Tired. Have to go now. Next time, dear diary, I'll tell you about the Patients' Bill of Rights (Canadian-style) and how far I can walk on any given day - it's getting better all the time.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats