Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

15:36 - 07/18/2012
-
I spent 28 hours in the emergency department of our city's biggest hospital, listening to the beeping monitors of my own and 46 other patients. At one point I heard someone race into the area yelling "we need multi units of blood" I guess for the survivors of an accident, while overhead the public announcement system called for all security people to converge on the emergency room. Talk among the staff about a need to cope with all the family members arriving. Sigh. I feel really tired just thinking about it. But there was the huge family of the one Italian poppa gathered around his stretcher next to me (no Guido present) where he ordered around and chastised everyone, including the staff, through his breathing tube and they did exactly what they were told, although I could hear some arguing and grumbling among and between the flock, so I guess it was necessary. One spiritual advisor lecturing in another language another repentant for their behaviour bringing them to hospitalization. Thank goodness for my cellphone, helping me keep family and friends in the loop and bringing help -and food - when necessary. I didn't know then since no one told me, that my vitals were so out of whack that there were extended arguments among the medicos about how to treat me. I ended up being admitted to hospital for a week for testing, CT scans, MRIS, and ultrasounds of numerous vital organs to peek at my inner workings. Had a room next to a woman who was so confused she demanded a harbour view and frequently tried to escape her captors - poor thing. Got to recognize security on sight. No jokes about hospital food, it was dreadful.

I am now back home with my youngest son, his wife and three daughters,13, 2 and 1. A+ comes by and springs me from house arrest every so often. Tired now, need a nap. Tell you more later dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats