Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:35 - 17.01.09
Bussted
I haven't forgotten you dear diary. I just went back to work the day after New Years and have been too tired - working long hours - to write when I get home. As you might have guessed, I spent New Year's Eve with A+. We have watched a number of movies lately, because it has been too cold to go outside any longer than necessary. I think that night we watched Moulin Rouge. It was good. There were some scenes I could have done without - overacted a bit. The story was wonderful though and the music was haunting - brought back a lot of memories.

The Friday was the first day back at work. -38 to -40 C when I left early in the am. Brrrrr. When I left home, I was carrying a mug of hot tea. It was tepid by the time I reached the train station 15 minutes later. That day a team of five of us were scheduled to travel and work at three different sites. First up was a high end ladies' clothing boutique - European make. Took us about two hours to complete. By the time we got back to the van for the next trip the tea had frozen solid in that cup. I had left it in the van, of course. I couldn't even pry open the lid. Warmed it up between my knees and had iced tea instead. Arrived at our next stop. A truckers' convenience store and way station. I had no idea so many services could be housed in such a small area. Showers, laundry, communications center, bank, as well as food and warm friendly faces who knew their clients well, it seemed. Our last stop was a Mom and Pop store in the heart of downtown. By the time we had finished all three sites, we had spent about nine hours together traveling around the circumference of the city. I hadn't taken any breaks other than sitting in that van, but I wasn't all that much in need of them either. I was glad to get home at the end of the day so that I could try to warm up before the next day's adventure.

Saturday was a visit to a mens' clothing store - everything on sale at great prices. Too bad I only had $3 left in my bank account after paying my bills, eh? At least the account balance was in the black instead of the red, like it was a year ago. Progress is sometimes measured in baby steps, isn't it? I was assigned two new people to train and mentor, as well I was asked to count. Not a bad day, except I found I had managed to get frostbite on my feet, one finger and one of my cheeks given it was another day of nearly -40 C weather. Bleagh.

Sunday saw a small team, including me, traveling to work at a small independently owned and operated grocery store. What was fascinating about it was the sense of community that permeated the building. The local community residents made certain they took their custom to that store. Everyone - staff and shoppers - greeted each other as old friends. It was apparent that they knew each others' business intimately too - maybe sometimes too much. However, it was clear that they cared a great deal for each other. Way cool. The type of count we did was new to me and it reminded me what it was like to be on the first day of one's job. Given that my tasks for the next while were mostly to train new staff, it was a good lesson and reminder of how that felt as well as what was most important to offer to anyone new trying to figure out all the details of an assignment.

Monday was an assignment at one of the larger community malls. I was outside in the frigid early morning waiting for the security staff to open up for us for over half an hour. They were late, which meant being outside in another bout of profoundly cold weather exacerbating that initial bit of frost-bite. Add insult to injury, Christmas carols with a cowboy twang were playing from the giant Christmas tree still lighting up the parking lots. Oi. In contrast, the heating in the mall had broken down and couldn't be shut off. It was like a steam bath in the store. Came out of that assignment feeling like a wet rag. Luckily the work was easy, even with mostly new staff. I was asked to work on the trouble areas. Even so, the manager of that job found the time to go try on the clothes she found on sale while we worked. As I counted, I came across a perfect pair of pants for work, but again that account balance -- oh well. No point trying them on even after the assignment was finished. Rode the train home with one of the young women who was at that count. She was in a great deal of pain - something that had been flaring up off and on for a few months. Several of the other counters had urged her to go to a doctor, but she had ignored them. Her description indicated probable appendicitis. I told her the story of my uncle's six weeks of suffering after his appendix burst and the mess it made of his abdomen when emergency surgery was required. I told her I would be showing up at her door later on if she didn't go to a doctor straight away. I guess I must have scared her as she walked directly to the clinic from the train station. Doctor confirmed that diagnosis and put her on meds, telling her she was lucky she wasn't already in hospital. At least she caught it in time.

Speaking of time, I need to catch the bus shortly. Talk with you later dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats