Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:56 - 29.12.08
Christmas
A week ago Sunday, the scar on my elbow started acting up. You know, that scar I got when the doctor scooped all the MRSA infected tissue out of the joint over a year ago. Anyway, it now acts as an early weather-warning system. Depending on changes in the barometric pressure, it presents as varying types of pain or just a weakness that means I can't use that arm to pick up anything heavier than a feather. No yoga on those days. Given that it was about -40 C/F at the time, I took it as a great sign. A couple of days later, it was warm enough outside - -17 C/0 F - to venture out for a bit of Christmas shopping. Good thing since the big day was Thursday,eh? Walked over to the local shops in my community, partly because I like to support the local merchants and also because our transit/road system was still in gridlock. Wading through the knee-high snow was an adventure, and great exercise too. By the time I returned home, my youngest had shoveled the balcony just off my bedroom clear of snow so that the cats could burn off their cabin fever. They reeeally wanted to catch all those birds and squirrels that had emerged to eat the bread we had put out for them as the day warmed up. Big sissies only lasted a few minutes outside, but at least they weren't so naughty once they returned to their cosy nests on my bed.

Christmas Eve, A+ and his Mom invited me to join them for dinner at one of their community's restaurants. We enjoyed a wonderful meal, surrounded by other local families and friends who were sharing the festive season together. It's always a lot of fun just watching the small childrens' anticipation of things to come; all dressed up, too, in their best Christmas finery. It was a very warm and pleasant place to spend the evening. A+ had been invited to one of his longtime friend's Christmas day celebration with her family. Returned home not long after in order to make the dishes I was to bring for my Dad's Christmas get together the next afternoon. Finished the final preparations the next morning with the help of my youngest son. What was unusual about this Christmas was that I felt so little stress. Time and resources have always been so scarce for me with two jobs to carry on top of single-parenting six lively sons, but this year nothing bothered me much. My youngest had a lot to do with that as he volunteered to do a lot of the shopping/wrapping for the grandbabies' gifts for me. Just cards for the adults.

My brother swung by to pick my youngest and I up early on Christmas afternoon. Bus service in this city was offered for free, but only the trains and a few of the major routes were running. The closest we could have come on transit was several miles to the south and east of my Dad's home. The weather was balmy - comparatively speaking - with a bright sunlit blue sky as an extra Christmas gift from Mother Nature, but with about 20 to 30 inches of snowfall to trudge through - in drifts in places it was shoulder height for me - walking the balance of the distance just wasn't feasible.

The afternoon flew by quite pleasantly, visiting with various family members and playing with my grand-babies. My middle grand-daughter - the one I babysat while I was ill - quietly stepped up to see me when I first arrived and was talking with a couple of my sisters. When I bent down to hug her she threw herself into my arms - major guilt. I sat and cuddled her for a long time after. I wish I could find a way to be available to look after her full-time, but at this point I have to work as close to full-time as I can just to pay my basic bills. Sigh. My youngest grand-daughter filled my lap after the siren song of more unopened gifts called my two year old grand-daughter away. At six months she was amazingly calm, unlike her two year old brother. One of my nephews opened the back door so as to step out for a smoke break. My grandson zipped out as soon as that door opened and immediately was immersed in a two-foot snowbank. Roars of outrage followed as his Mom pried snow-caked socks from his tiny feet. My youngest grand-daughter, at six months, was completely happy just to sit and snuggle - and so was her grandmother. I had almost cuddled her to sleep by the time her Mom and Dad finished up eating their Christmas brunch. The buffet was superb, as usual, with contributions from each family meaning there was more food than even the most voracious eaters could handle. My Dad had rebuilt an antique radio for each of us siblings as gifts. I can't think of a greater treat. Labours of love. Near the end of the day one of my nephews asked to have his cards read. I haven't offered that service at family functions for a while, but he is about to fly off across the country to try living in Montreal. Some of his buddies have already emigrated there and found an apartment. They invited him to join them on their first "living as an adult" adventure. I told him that in exchange he would now have to correspond with me "en francais" only. Since he only speaks English, that should be entertaining for both of us.

Boxing Day, my wisdom tooth was really inflamed. No doubt after two straight days of feasting. Got things under control by the end of the day. Watched "The Golden Compass" with A+ and his Mom the next day then joined number two son, his wife and my two year old grand-daughter at the Zoo for their annual Christmas lights display. We arrived around 6:30 in the pm when it was properly dark. The temperature was probably around -10 C, which felt quite comfortable to us after coping with -40 C temperatures for nearly two weeks. A+ brought his camera and tripod so he could capture the magic on film. There were several thousand people sharing the park with us. It was obvious that, for many families, it was an annual tradition. From the tiniest newborn swaddled in mounds of blankets and carried by their parent in a snugli, to the oldest grand-parent in their '80's riding in a wheel chair navigating the snow-covered paths with the help of their grandchildren it seemed as though everyone was having a great time. There were fire pits located in several places around the zoo and the concessions stands were doing a brisk business in coffee and hot chocolate. There was ice cream on offer, but that wasn't all that popular for some reason. A number of radio stations had tents and play areas set up to help entertain the crowds. The most popular feature seemed to be the "Tunnel of Love" and the "Smooching Shack". My grand-daughter wanted to touch it all - oohing and aahing at the blaze of colours and enjoying the animated light displays. No stroller for little Miss either. When she wasn't skipping along the paths, holding my hand tightly, she was in my arms hoisted up high enough so she could see better. Eased my guilt about not being able to spend more time with her a bit. We left reluctantly at 9 pm when the public announcer urged everyone to go home for the night. That proved a bit of a challenge, since most of the exits were blocked off already. When I remarked about that to the zoo attendant, she grinned rather wickedly and stated that they liked to corral a few of the human visitors each evening for the sake of animal enrichment - you know - open up the cages and let Mother Nature have her way. Uh huh.

Yesterday, A+ and I had dim sum (yes, I can pick up the peanuts with chop sticks)with his best friend. I think I was more nervous even than when I met his Mom. Best friends are powerful influences and I wanted him to approve of me. A+ and he collaborate on creative projects together as partners sometimes. A+ writes and his friend is a graphic artist. During the summer, A+ and I went to see one movie in the theaters specifically because one of the main "props" in that film had been designed by his friend and then built by his friend's company. A+ wanted to see his friend's name in the movie's credits. That was actually very exciting. The movie was a "guy" thing, but it was actually pretty entertaining too, even if it wasn't well received by the critics. As it turned out, his friend was very easy and pleasant to talk with. A lot of the discussion was about politics. A+ got a little nervous when his friend started talking about their childhood exploits together. What came out of that part of the discussion was that they both seem to really enjoy the same things that I do. His friend, A+ and I discussed family trees and the stories that can surprise one as more of one's heritage is uncovered. His friend's father competed in the rodeo circuit. The tales he told us about his Dad were fascinating and poignant both. Near the end of brunch, A+'s friend said he understood that he might not have as much of A+'s time for a while and that that was ok with him. I guess that means I passed muster.

During that visit, my number five son called to see if A+ and I would be able to meet him and his girlfriend for a late lunch that afternoon. Oi. I asked A+ if he minded on such short notice. He showed a lot of grace under pressure in agreeing. Meeting one's companion's friends and family for the first time, one at a time, is stressful enough. Two in one day with one the previous evening is a lot to ask. Number five son picked us up at A+'s home a few hours after his friend had dropped us off. The restaurant was one mall over from the restaurant we had visited with A+'s friend. Normally we would have walked over to meet them, but the bitter wind that had buffeted us when we walked to the first meeting made us grateful for the offered transportation. We are hardy, but not foolish about winter weather after all. The restaurant we visited was one of the most popular Italian restaurants in the city. Our server was very knowledgeable and entertaining, which set the mood for the visit. Discussion was about work, family and current affairs mostly and went well too. A+ and I headed off for a little bit of consumer therapy after lunch #2, while my son and his girlfriend headed off to one of her family's birthday celebrations. And that's my story, dear diary. Good Night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats