Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:57 - 14.10.08
waves
I met A+'s Mom this weekend. Nerve wracking it was, but she was very gracious. I like her a lot.

While I was out, my sons tried to teach my grandchildren to bake. I think the intent was to create oatmeal raisin cookies. From the state of the kitchen when I returned, I would guess that the experiment was a success. It took me several hours to clean up the mess you see.

I went straight from work to vote today and sent a note of apology to the friend who ran because I ended up having so little time to assist in her campaign. Unfortunately paying bills has to take priority over volunteer work much as I hate to admit it. It appears we have another minority government to cope with. Maybe Canadians are trying to send a message to the politicians. "We are keeping you on a short leash, because we don't trust you." That certainly was my intention.

Returned home to find a voicemail from my Dad. He has been travelling through the Atlantic provinces and New England states this past month. He said that they were incredibly beautiful this time of year. I told him he could have brought back that weather instead of the snow that fell last night. In fact it rained almost all of last night with no accumulation in my community, but in my Dad's community and in the bedroom community to the north that my sister lives in there was quite a bit of the white stuff. Dad said about two inches of it on the ground at his home.

I know about my sister's community because that was where we worked today. As I reached the bus stop a block away from me this morning it was still drizzling and it was chilly. Across the street was a police car, lights flashing but no siren. A light inside the home where it was parked indicated that perhaps the police were attending a domestic dispute. Statistically, those are the most dangerous calls for police to attend but the most important ones they do in protecting not only the victims of the abuser, but also the community at large. Abusers are a danger to everyone they come in contact with, not just their preferred targets. Their aggressive actions may be acted out in different ways, but they are still acts of violence after all. Think road rage or bullying in the workplace. Uh huh. It certainly put going to my work in perspective. There are always frustrations in any job, but at least no one will target me specifically and directly for an act of vengeance or violence because I am doing my job.

I've been trying to communicate with friends and family by email and on Facebook the past few hours with no success. Neither service will allow my missives to go through. If it wasn't for the fact that there are several comments from other Facebookers in the help section complaining that they also haven't been able to use those applications, my paranoia would be very active right now. Probably just the astrological planet of Mercury wreaking it's usual havoc as it turns from retrograde to forward motion tomorrow afternoon. At least that's my story and I'm sticking to it. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats