Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:17 - 10.10.08
Musical
I was scheduled for a day off today. That is probably a good thing given that for the next three weeks starting after our Thanksgiving long weekend I will be working straight through the days. I spent some of my time just cleaning and tidying up. With the schedules of my two sons and I now round the clock, it seems that there is never really enough time to get all the daily chores done.

Dishwashing is done by hand and of itself requires a few hours to complete. Bleach in the water right now since both grandbabies and both sons have winter colds. Keep those germs at bay. I did a fair amount of sleeping for that reason too. Fatigue, for no reason, tells me my immune system must be dealing with a challenge. I feel much better now, but I'd like to keep it that way. Lots of laundry to keep up with two active schoolchildren as well.

My oldest son arrived at my door with his two children just after the lunch hour. They needed to visit the doctor you see. In this city it is nearly impossible to find a family doctor - shortages in almost every form of service because of the exploding population growth. If one's family doctor moves elsewhere, the search for another can be difficult. My son's doctor is one of the movers, so he decided to try the clinic a couple of blocks from my home. He needs to be seen as well because of the head injuries from that hit and run accident in the summer. The hospital's brain injuries unit tracked him down despite his heavy schedule and insisted on booking him in for tests in November. A prerequisite of that is to be assessed by a gp first.

While they were visiting, the grandbabies chose to watch the movie "Grease". They were completely rapt with the music and the story. Discussions about family history arose as I told them about the dance contests my Mom and Dad had often won, while we were watching the Bandstand sequence in the film. Jive was their choice of dance. They loved to be on the dance floor any chance they got right up until my Mom died. My Dad said the reason they did so well in contests was that my Mom seemed to anticipate his moves even before he knew what he was going to do. Not surprising being my Mom was a Scorpio - she always knew about things before they happened. She could also read people she met instantly and with an uncanny accuracy. Spooky, those Hallowe'en/Samhain babies. It will be interesting to see if my grandson - also a Scorpio - inherited any of my Mom's uncanny abilities. At the end of the movie my grandson packed that dvd up carefully to take home with him. Guess I'll have to find the music on youtube if I feel the urge to sing "meditate in my direction...feel your way". My son said they would bring back the movie "Hairspray" as well as my hip hop dvd for me on the weekend so that the trade was equal. Fine by me.

Talked with A+ a couple of times over the day. He was off work too. We spent some time discussing what our weekend would look like. Hiking featuring prominently in the agenda. We spend a lot of time walking and I really enjoy that. He often brings his camera along on our peregrinations. He is a very accomplished photographer and has even tried to teach me how. He has his work cut out for him there. Right now he is experimenting with Miksang which is also a form of meditative exercise. Hmmmmmmm - seems to be a Sagittarian thang. Anyway I need to rest up for our next outdoor adventure. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats