Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:03 - 09.10.08
Winter Preview
I can't understand why I'm so cold, hungry and tired right now. It was below zero C/ 30 F when I left for work at just after 6 in the am this morning, but I was dressed for it. Three layers of fabric left me feeling warm. I have certainly had enough to eat, but the body wasn't satisfied until it had the ration of honey it was demanding just now. I arrived home and was back in bed by 2 in the pm and slept deeply until nearly 6 pm. Guess my body hasn't yet fought off whatever was making me ill yesterday.

I was very grateful to my employer for the assignment I had today. Up in the mountains it was. I love the drive along the TransCanada highway going west into the Rockies. Picturesque. In autumn the colours are extraordinary. At Dead Man's Flats one could see frost on the shoulders of the road. Turned to ice not long after on our journey up into the mountain peaks. The clouds gathering along the peaks of the mountains embracing the sunrise left me both breathless and speechless. In a lot of ways it very much resembled some of the formations one sees out in space. I can't even begin to describe them to you dear diary. I wish I had a camera so I could share such things with you. That type of natural beauty never fails to remind me how lucky one is to be alive on such a day. Vehicles travelling in the opposite direction to us were sometimes covered in snow. People unprepared for that first snow storm I guess.

One of our crew is new to Canada from a tropical country. He had never seen snow before. The manager of the count showed him how to scoop the snow to make a proper snowball. It was interesting to see that mountain town and it's dusting of snow through the eyes of someone with no previous knowledge of winter weather. Our count today was in a liquor store. New to me, but my only concern was to not break anything. The store staff were supportive and pleasant. There was lots of trading of stories about earlier counts in the week from my co-workers too. Driving to and from the count I sat up front with the manager of the project chatting about his experiences living in Fort McMurray. All useful pieces of information for certain.

I am finding it difficult to remain coherent dear diary so I think that is all I'll write tonight. Talk with you tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats