Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

06:38 - 06.10.08
Nurture
My oldest son just arrived home from work. My youngest son just left for his first day at his new job. I packed a lunch for him and pulled together the ingredients to assemble dinner for my oldest. My oldest had brought me a yoghurt and fruit cup for my breakfast. My sons had about 15 minutes to chat before one headed for bed, while the other ran for the bus. Not exactly "Alice's Restaurant ", but talk of political issues of a federal sort did reflect some of the original song. Afghanistan and the military, you see. It is my contention that Canadians of a certain age - those that actually vote - still are strongly influenced by the Vietnam War. We still don't trust our politicians with the wherewithal to actually commit us to an armed conflict started by other nations. Therefore, there is support for the materiel to undertake peace-keeping or peace-making actions, but not real weapons of destruction. Nor nuclear reactors for power neither. We really don't trust those we elect and that is not such a bad thing. "They" come from amongst us and we know ourselves well enough - at some subliminal level - to know that being elected does not bestow instant intelligence or integrity, although we suspect that the opposite characteristics tend to corrupt more often. A+ and I are going on our own political journey a bit later today, so I see a theme developing here.

In the newspaper this weekend, a story that validates my youngest son's reason for quitting his job last January. They finally caught the hackers, but I'm not certain the whole story has come out yet. Sometimes having integrity - by not participating in business practices - have punishing consequences. I did work part of the weekend - a much longer job than anticipated that resulted in concern for the client. Much less stock than was anticipated. Was it shrinkage/theft or accounting errors or something else. Some of our team, including me, waited a long time after the inventory was completed for their staff to work through rechecks and their own audits of our work. Fair enough.

Anyway time to go get ready for the day. Talk with you later dear diary about things emotional.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats