Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:35 - 26.09.08
Shift work
I was thinking I was coping pretty well with the stressors I mentioned yesterday. That illusion vanished, with a snicker from the universe audible, when I realized I had missed my last train stop of the morning on the way to work. I had been aware of the students off-loading at the university train station, but didn't even notice the train had reached my station until it pulled away from that platform. Oi. I grew up in that area of the city, so at least I wasn't totally panicked with the prospect of becoming lost. Stayed on that train as it pulled into the last stop and waited, less than patiently, for it to begin it's return trip downtown and then into the deep south of the city. Sigh. See there's a good reason to arrive early when starting a bus journey. Built in scheduling room. Still arrived at the work site five minutes before I was due to start. Phew.

I was also a bit teary at the prospect of the pending funeral, so maybe the mind decided to buy me some extra time to calm down before facing what turned out to be some hostile work conditions. I comforted myself throughout the day with the knowledge that I had the opportunity to talk to the man now in my life around our dinner break. A source of comfort and strength to draw on for the day. You see the store manager had the Arctic attitude toward me. When I tried to explain that I might be a bit late if the funeral went overlong, she just snapped that I shouldn't talk with her about it. She told me to call my employer so that they could send a replacement for me. I restated that I would only be (possibly) late not absent. Given that several of the other inventory workers have had to leave early or arrive late t accommodate their appointments I was disappointed that she had been gracious about their scheduling issues while mine seemed to be unacceptable to her. I don't attend funerals for fun after all. I then asked her, after having to chase after her, where she wanted me to work that day. For all of this assignment she has always given me that direction as a matter of course. Today she just snapped "ask the managers, until you find one who needs your help." Alrighty then. Sigh. One of the sales associates had been complaining all week to me about lack of empathy when life events made attendance at work either difficult or impossible, but this was the first time I had witnessed it for myself.

I chose to go to the department where there were none of my co-workers knowing that coverage of each section of the store wa an expectation of the store manager. Each of the store staff was obviously very stressed about the coming inspection by the big kahunas who were now due to arrive Friday morning - today. Around the supper hour, after I had had my one very comforting phone call with my partner, one of the senior sales associates made a point of telling me who the big kahunas were and where they came from. Turns out the one I worked with in the companys other outlet in this city in early summer was one of the two. Also turns out that she is closely related to the sales associate who was the subject of both incident reports. "That's how she got that job here", was the way the news was delivered to me. I guess maybe going to that funeral will be better than being on site when that inspector arrives. It also explained why the sales associate who has caused the problems was acting like "the cat who got the cream". Sigh. It also explains why none of the other retail staff have raised their voices about her - the bully's - behaviour.

Supper break was an eventful time as my co-worker from the inventory company told me that she had mentioned, in jest, that she would like to submit an application to work at the retail store to one of the sales associates. That associate got quite excited and was coaching my co-worker about how to proceed. When they mentioned it to the supervisor that the two of them were reporting to, she stated that she could not consider my co-worker's application because she was a temp and the contract between their company and our employer forbade it. My co-worker told the supervisor that she had not signed or consented to any conditions with respect to working for an employer associated with our employer. The supervisor remained adamant that my co-worker could not apply for work at this store. At the same time the store manager told me last week that I would be welcome "anytime" to work for her (that might change because of the incident reports). At the very end of my shift tonight one of the other sales associates broached the subject of my choosing to change from inventory work to retail sales. It is speculative on my part, but it seems the race/accent of my co-worker might be the real reason for refusing to consider her. Certainly her work has been extremely good and has been done in a timely fashion so that's not the issue nor is the legal red herring thrown out at her today.

It should be noted that some of the clientele of the store are rather ummm, particular about who waits on them. The store manager and two of the sales associates are from European countries and they do have strong accents reflecting their first languages. I have heard really rude comments made from those particular shoppers to those three workers - put downs about their origins and therefore being unworthy to assist the shopper in question. Outright refusals a couple of times. Saw the store manager near tears the night before after one group of shoppers beaked off about her unsuitability as a sales associate for example. It could be that the upper level store management has caved in to the ignorance of that lowest common denominator in our society rather than risk losing a sale or two. That's only my speculation of course.

Anyway, we stayed later than our scheduled time, my co-worker and me to help finish the preparation for this morning's grand inspection so I arrived home even late than usual. Had to dig out clothes, find pantyhose and shoes suitable for a funeral as well as for that worksite today. Only two more shifts to go in this assignment and I think that is a good thing. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats