Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:46 - 31.03.08
Begats
The cats and I have been reading Chronicles the last while. In keeping with that theme, I've been adding more of my siblings' family members to that on-line genealogy program. Because Canada is mostly a land of immigrants, there were more oddities to contend with. Some families being forced to split up because of political decisions either in this country's government or the one "back home". How awful to have to leave some of one's children behind because of their age. Of course families at that time were huge compared to today's North American average of 2.5 children and shrinking. Families back a century or two ago usually had a head count into the teens anyway. I thought about those poor women and all those labour pains. Six children with a cumulative total of just under 100 hours labour was more than enough for me, thank you very much. As it is the head count on the genealogy program stands at over 300 souls with varying amounts of information. I still have nearly 100 names to add, even without the direct line in my family to consider. I haven't yet included some of the anecdotes and historical clarifications - born in countries or territories that no longer exist for example, either. Chronicles indeed. I've developed a great deal of respect for those biblical authors who drew up those endless lists of begats with attached divisions of property added in.

I will write more later dear diary and I will discuss those dreams as well as what was happening when Mr Mars turned retrograde astrologically last November 15. He is now returned to that point at 12 degrees of Cancer, so maybe some of us can get on with our lives. Good night for now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats