Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:23 - 25.03.08
blow out
About the time I was signing off with you in the wee hours of the morning an unexpected storm blew in to our city. The resulting weather migraine was violently painful because of the speed at which that system arrived. It felt as though someone had taken a hammer to my face. I also found breathing very difficult. All the sinuses became inflamed you see. The upshot was that I didn't fall asleep until about 7 in the am thoroughly frustrated because I need to get so much work done on the house. I checked outside just before curling up with the cats seeing a glimmer of daylight and trees bent double with the force of that wind. Around 8:30 am I was awoken by the yelling going on next door. Impossible to ignore so I got up to check to see if there was some sort of emergency that required those stentorian tones. Nope she, the neighbour, was just angry with her children. Guess the snow was distracting them so that they weren't moving as quickly as she wished. Yes snow. Hadn't been there when I went to bed but about 2 inches of the wet sticky kind was on the ground with more falling steadily as I watched. Bleagh.

Given that my youngest had still not completed fixing the sidewalk and that the gap between the blocks was now hidden under that snow, I pulled on some clothes, grabbed the shovel and headed outside to clear the walkway. The neighbours from the other side of the duplex sat out in their car watching as I did so. When it was all cleared away I grabbed a nobbly beach-type blanket and placed it in the gap between those blocks so it would provide some traction as well as alerting any pedestrian that there was no solid surface beneath it. The blanket is a striped green and easily visible through quite a lot of snow you see. Over the balance of the day it warmed up sufficiently so that all the snow melted leaving the blanket embedded in the mud left behind. Whatever. Spent the balance of the day rearranging furniture, cleaning up the aftermath left behind then sorting the paperwork that seems to cover every flat surface in this house. Oh well, at least I found a lot of material I need. I guess that means it was a good day. Now I'm hoping I'll have a good night's sleep. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats